Anyone Noticed

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Macman45, Aug 3, 2011.

  1. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #1
    After the latest software update, my ATV seems to switch itself on without any input from the remote, or my iPhone or iPad.

    It goes to sleep after the designated hour, and I can think of no reason why it's suddenly started doing this.

    Everything else working fine.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    Batt

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    #2
    I have two of them, and they've both done that under every software version. They are apparently haunted.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #3
    A Ghost

    In MY ATV..? Spooky. :eek:

    It's not having any effect on the unit's performance, and short of sitting up all night and watching it, I think I'll just leave it.

    For all I know it might have been doing it prior to the updated software anyway! :)
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #4
    To me, it seems like everytime I use my remote...for controlling any piece of my home theater equipment...my ATV2 likes to turn on. :(
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    #5
    Same here. I have a Harmony One and whenever I use it to turn on my system, even if the activity is not to watch Apple TV, it will turn the Apple TV on. I even went into my Harmony settings to make sure that it was not a component of the particular activity I was doing.

    I think it may be that anytime the Apple TV receives an HDMI signal it is powering on.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #6
    Mine seems to behave like Mstze's, where other component remotes seem to have an affect on the aTV. I've put my aTV to sleep manually, only to come back later and see that the white light is on.

    However, when I switch inputs on the TV, the aTV isn't actually on. Just the white light.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #7
    That's exactly what think...
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #8
    my Apple TV only turns on via the remote, then the apple TV sends a HDMI signal to the TV, which allows me to change the input. My TV is an LG.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #9
    That Makes Sense

    I did turn on my HD recorder, that sends a signal through to the tv which is connected to the ATV. Makes sense, I will try it.

    No big deal though :)
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    cderalow

    #10
    i find that mine turns itself on (when off) if it senses the TV turn on or off. pretty sure it's not remote cross traffic, as it does it when i've turned the tv off by the physical switch on the tv as well.


    maybe auto sensing the hdmi output for the return?
     
  11. Rorlow, Aug 7, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2011

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    #11
    what was the aTV update version number? was it for the aTV2? Reason I ask is I haven't seen any aTV updates on mine in ages, its like they forgot about the original aTV after the aTV2 came out . . .
     
  12. macrumors 65816

    Sedulous

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002

Share This Page