Anyone running Bootcamp on a MacBook?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by chriskzoo, May 17, 2006.

  1. chriskzoo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #1
    I am in the market for a new laptop and have a Mac at home. For various business/school reasons I want access to Windows and was wondering if anyone has been able to evaluate the performance of Windows on the MacBook - which would give me the best of both worlds.

    Also, for those running Boot Camp on a MacBook Pro - what are the common issues. Does the WiFi work, etc.

    Thanks!
     
  2. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #2
    The iSight and Apple Remote don't work. But other than that, performance will be almost exactly what it would be on a PC with the same specs. You don't need to worry about "performance" just because its an Apple machine, just look at the hardware compared to similar PCs (read: Dell).
     
  3. Kelson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #3
    Sure am...

    I run boot camp on my MacBook Pro, primarily so I can play Windows games, like EVE Online and Oblivion.

    I have to say that I love the MacBook Pro running both Windows & OS X, it is extremely fast. In fact, it is by far the fastest Windows box I've ever used. It lets me get loaded into my game so fast I hardly even notice that I'm using Windows.

    The only thing that does seem to work for me is the screen saver. I like to hit a hot corner to enable the screen saver so I can password protect my session, but I can't seem to get that working.

    I haven't tried the iSight or Remote like the other poster mentioned, but as I recall those are well known issues w/ Windows on MacBook Pro.

    - Kelson
     
  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    I understand that almost everything is supposed to work out of the box; there is one exception I've heard of, which is that there is a third party utility for Windows that lets you control-click to right click, etc, so that you can fully use the one-button trackpad. Is this true?

    I hope someone finds a way to make the iSight work soon... That itself might make me want to get Windows running on a Intel Mac....
     
  5. chriskzoo thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    #5
    Anyone have any idea if the MacBook will be able to run Vista? Because of the vid card requirements, I'm guess I would need the MacBook Pro.
     
  6. 4JNA macrumors 68000

    4JNA

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Location:
    looking for trash files
    #6
    vista?

    as of the current beta build, it will work fine. currently running the current build on a desktop with onboard graphics a generation behind the macbook, and it works fine. lots of the eye candy stuff won't work, but who cares? :confused:
     
  7. Killian macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    #7
    Beware!! I know a few people have had some heat issues with the Mac Book Pro running BootCamp. I personally don't use a MBP but from reading other posts, I think there's a problem BootCamp has running the fans correctly and things start to overheat!! I may be completely wrong but just check out some of the other posts on the MBPs!! ;)
     
  8. w_parietti22 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #8
    That was before Boot Camp. Boot Camp comes with software for the fans.
     
  9. truz macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    The mighty mouse looks like a single click mouse on top but it has a left and right clicker..

    System Preferences -> Keyboard & Mouse -> Mouse -> Change the left side Primary Button to Secondary Button and you have right and left clicker..
     
  10. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    The GMA950 is sold as 'ready for vista' meaning all the fancy **** in Vista will run on it...
     
  11. Heart Break Kid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #11
    Im not doubting you, but can you post a link to where I can see that with my own eyes? I'm thinking about buying a Macbook this week and one of my main requirements is that it should be able to handle vista and xp fairly well. I dont need it for gaming purposes - but I would like it to handle all that "**** in Vista" as you said :)
     
  12. Kidman13 macrumors regular

    Kidman13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    #12
    http://www.intel.com/products/chipsets/gma950/

    Ready for Microsoft Windows* Vista*
     
  13. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #13
    There's a much more detailed discussion of the issue of the GMA 950 and the Macbook being able to handle Aero in Vista here:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=202326
     
  14. ewinemiller macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Location:
    west of Philly
    #14
    For the most part it's working fine for me, but it won't reliably go to sleep when I close the lid so I have to shut it down and reboot when I'm done for the day. Also it never puts the LCD to sleep no matter what the power settings are.
     
  15. Heart Break Kid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Location:
    Toronto
    #15
  16. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #16
    Power management settings have always been a problem (for me) with Windows. ...and that was running on a PC.

    So don't worry, it's a windows thing. :) :p
     
  17. jasonyc macrumors newbie

    jasonyc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #17
    I've been reading a lot about the MacBook Pro and everyone's complaints about heat/noise/etc. Keeping a good eye on the developments.

    I love my MacBook Pro. I love it. Like a father loves a son. Which is why I'm so sad to have to write what I'm about to write.
    And please try to understand, son. I'm not mad. I just...disappointed.

    And so it goes...
    I had the wine issue. 'Bandaided' with QuietMBP.
    I didn't have the noise issue associated with screen brightness.
    I did have a fan issue, but it didn't get bad until yesterday.

    I started to notice the fan 'grinding' like an electric razor from time to time when it would speed up. Then I noticed it more and more.
    Downloaded and ran CoreDuoTemp to get a reading of 60 degrees C (That's around 145F) at idle. I was shocked.
    Being used to temperature readings of Pentium chips (where 60 - 80F is an acceptable range of idle temperatures), I panicked into a Google search. Many were reporting that Apple stated the temperature I was seeing on my machine was 'within spec'. Another link (provided by the same post) lead to a page list of processors (all types) and their respective max tempertures before theoreticle burnout. The max for the Core Duo 2.0ghz chip is listed at 100C.
    That's right. Celcius. It blew me away. But what do I know.
    So I wasn't too worried.

    I'd installed BootCamp and Windows XP to play some games to see how it would run. Half Life 2, Halo, and F.E.A.R. all ran flawlessly.
    Although the settings in FEAR were set to Medium at 1152x854 (Or somewhere around there), the game looked and played beautifully.
    That was last night.

    Tonight, I decided to run FEAR again. This time, to play play.
    So I booted into Windows normally, and started up the game. Loaded my saved game, and off I went. And off my fan went.

    The fan went full blast. And kept going, and going, and going...
    This thing wasn't going to stop. Then the electric razor grinding started. Then it got louder, and louder, and louder. It woke my girlfriend up from a dead sleep. In a panic, I quit the game, told Windows to shut itself down (restart), and waited.

    The machine turned off, and the fan stopped dead. I shook off my initial shock, and pushed the power button. 'Rrrrr.....RRRrrrrrr.....RRRRRrrrrrrr.....RRRRRRRRRRRRRRR' went my fan. That was a rendition of my fan sounding like it was being held back by something. Coming into contact with something, perhaps? But it eventually gained speed to squeal once again.
    It wouldn't boot. White screen forever. I shut it down. I try it again. Same result.

    Girlfriend suggests that I let it cool off a bit. I agree, and thank her.
    I take it outside on the back balcony, and place it on a safe spot for cooling off. Leave it out there for ten or so minutes. Cool to the touch. I sit it down at my dining room table, hold my breath, and push the power switch. Success.

    I ran Boot Camp Assistant, and got rid of the Windows partition. Rebooted. The fan's been operating as usual since the reboot, exhibiting the slightest of slow rattles.
    I'll run a few things to see if it resumes normal function, but as of right now, it looks like this poor thing's going back home to the Apple store. Gonna have to trade him in for one of his quieter brothers.
     
  18. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #18
    this thread title misled me... I was looking for a discussion of Bootcamp on the MacBook, not MacBook Pro.

    But since I'm here now... has anyone got Bootcamp, or Windows running on a MacBook yet? And how would the integrated graphics compare to a Radeon chip? (Just so I can understand their capability better...)

    And the one thing that I really want to know is - how well does the MB run Half Life 2. :p

    (I'm guessing not too well since I saw a UT benchmark where the MB ran at 18fps, and the MBP ran around 60+fps. :rolleyes: )
     
  19. wyrmintheapple macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    #19
    It runs just fine on the Macbook. I don't have pictures, but there is a thread around of a Macbook with windows running.....

    Please note, that is a MacBook running WINDOWS. NOT BootCamp. once BootCamp has helped you install XP, you are no longer "running" BootCamp. You are booting XP like many other regular PC's. Performance is the same..... cause it is the same.
     
  20. Core Trio macrumors regular

    Core Trio

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #20

    if your main requirement for a laptop is that it runs XP and Vista well, then why are you buying a mac?
     
  21. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #21

    Bootcamp works perfectly. But you will have to install bootcamp and burn a new disc for drivers. I thought my imac driver disc would do, but apparently not. Other than that it works perfectly....

    HalfLife 2 ? Don't know - probably averagly. 800x600 med - low settings.
     
  22. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #22
    Sorry to unearth an old thread, but I've been reading a few posts at the Apple Forum about MacBook users not being able to use Win XP because the drivers won't install after they have installed XP.

    Anyone with a MB confirm this?

    Thanks.
     
  23. jasonyc macrumors newbie

    jasonyc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Location:
    New York
    #23
    Works fine on mine.

    There are users who aren't following proper protocal when installing Windows XP on intel based Macs. The instructions clearly state that the install must be Windows XP Home or Pro with SP2 slipstreamed.
    It won't stop you from installing another version of Windows, but the drivers are specifically written for the aforementioned setup.

    Then again, there may be hiccups here and there that aren't super rampant.

    Personally, however, the drivers supplied by BootCamp installed seamlessly for my setup.

    15" MBP 2.16ghz 2GB Ram.
     
  24. Bern macrumors 68000

    Bern

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #24
    But it's not the MBP I'm asking about. I know the MBP handles it easily and owners of a MBP were advised to update the firmware prior to using Bootcamp.

    Presently there is no firmware update for MB's yet the Apple site has quite a few MB owners complaining about not being able to install the drivers after installing XP.
     
  25. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #25
    Drivers installed perfectly for me. The thing to remember is when bootcamp makes a cd, it burns the drivers for that paticular macbook, imac, macmini, macbook pro. Some of those having difficulty were using discs from their other intel macs. This doesnt work.

    Also a lot of users struggle to install the windows drivers, because windows is so fecking awkward. The thing to remember when installing them is to ignore the search for new hardware windows that pop open and just pay attention to the ones saying this driver has not been tested do you want to continue, as soon as you say yes, continue the other new hardware wizard windows close. Some people get unstuck by using the new hardware wizard which they should not do.

    XP ran perfectly via bootcamp for me on my macbook and from my other thread you can see that Vista also ran via bootcamp.

    From first hand experience...

    Here's some now VISTA FACTS to update earlier part of this thread..

    Yes AERO is supported on a macbook
    Yes 224mb of ram is dedicated to the GMA950 with Vista

    Vista likes A LOT of memory, especially if you want the GMA950 to use the full amount of ram.

    Aero & Glass only work if you choose to install the Lakeport drivers for the GMA950. Proper drivers will be released in due time, it's only a beta at this stage.

    To be honest vista looks about the same with basic look as it does with Aero. Aero's supposed 3D interface boils down to very little and glass is a complete superfluous waste. It's expose feature window icon + tab on keyboard is a bit pants too....
     

Share This Page