Anyone tried 1866MHz ram in their mini?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by kappaknight, Oct 30, 2012.

  1. kappaknight
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68000

    kappaknight

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #1
    Will it work? I seem to remember people trying higher clocked RAM in the MBP's and that it worked.
     
  2. MatthewAMEL
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    MatthewAMEL

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #2
  3. Westyfield2
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Bath, UK.
    #3
  4. NoisyCat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    #4
    I have 8Gb of Kingston HyperX 1866Mhz on my Mac Mini 2012, they are clocked at 1600Mhz. On my old Mac Mini 2011 they were running at 1866Mhz... :(
     
  5. Westyfield2
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Bath, UK.
    #5
    :(
     
  6. philipma1957
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #6
    well that is not the best news.


    I have used their 1600 plug n play in my 2011 mini's works great and it has tighter timings. I ordered some 1600 and it is due at my home today the timings are 9 vs 10. But i am thinking apple locked down the ram and these will be the same as any other 1600 ram. Oh well at least they don't cost much
     
  7. Bunyak
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #7
    Did you do anything special to get the 2011 Mini to recognize the RAM as 1866 Mhz? I have the same RAM and my 2011 Mini only recognizes it as 1600 Mhz.
     
  8. philipma1957
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #8
  9. NoisyCat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    #9
    I did nothing special, mine was the base 2,3 i5.
     
  10. Bunyak
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #10
  11. NoisyCat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    #11
    I think that there's no 8Gb 1886Mhz modules, just 4Gb. The HyperX 8Gb modules are 1600Mhz.
     
  12. Bunyak, Nov 2, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012

    Bunyak
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #12
    Whoops. My mistake.

    My question was triggered by a Geekbench result that I saw for a Mini with 8GB 1866Mhz HyperX RAM. I assumed that the 8GB sticks were also 1866.
     
  13. Bierboy, Nov 2, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012

    Bierboy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2012
    Location:
    East Moline, Ill.
    #13
    Good grief, people...just use the correct ram and get good stuff from [URL="http://www.crucial.com/store/listparts.aspx?model=Mac%20Mini%202.3GHz%20Quad-Core%20Intel%20Core%20i7%20-%20Late%202012]Crucial[/URL]. The price is good and it's the correct memory....
     
  14. chuckd83
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #14
    :(
     
  15. analogkid
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    Savannah
    #15
  16. Mojo1
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    #16
  17. NoisyCat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    #17
  18. Alekto
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #18
    I used 8GB of the Kingston HyperX 1866mhz RAM in my 2011 server. Showed up correctly in the system profiler. Have no reason to doubt that it ran at the correct speed.

    I've since sold that one and am using a base 2012 i5 mini. Hoping there will be some 16GB 1866mhz kits in the future.
     
  19. Alekto
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    Location:
    Tokyo
    #19
  20. reukiodo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    reukiodo

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Location:
    Earth
    #20
  21. alphaod
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose (CA)
    #21
  22. mmomega
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors demi-god

    mmomega

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #22
    I have 16GB of 1866Mhz in my 2012 Mini as well and it is downclocked to 1600MHz.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=19538968&postcount=8
     

Share This Page