Anyone tried SP1 on Bootcamp?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by numbersyx, Sep 29, 2006.

  1. numbersyx macrumors 65816

    numbersyx

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #1
    Hi all, sorry if this message has already been posted but has anyone tried installing XP SP1 on Bootcamp and then downloading the upgrade to SP2? The version of Windows that I have is SP1 but the Apple website seems to say that only SP2 is supported by BootCamp.

    Thanks for any assistance.
     
  2. cloudblood84 macrumors regular

    cloudblood84

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    san diego, ca
    #2
    yeah ive tried it and i had to do a reinstall, i dont know what exactly happened but i wouldnt try it
     
  3. Osarkon macrumors 68020

    Osarkon

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Location:
    Wales
    #3
    Download sp2 on a windows pc, and slipstream the disk. www.winsupersite.com this has instructions on how to do it :rolleyes:
     
  4. DeadSirius macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    #4
    I tried installing with an SP1 disk, and it just plain doesn't work. Avoid, avoid, avoid.
     
  5. echeck macrumors 68000

    echeck

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Location:
    Boise, Idaho
    #5
    I'm with Sirius. I bought XP Pro and the disc was bad, so I tried an SP1 version and it was bad news. Disc got stuck in the mini and all, just an overall bad experience. I had to burn a copy of my legit disc in order for Windows to install, go figure. :rolleyes:

    Anyway, get a copy of SP2 or use Osarkon's suggestion.
     
  6. nutman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
  7. farqueue macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
  8. darkcurse macrumors 6502a

    darkcurse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Location:
    Sydney
    #8
    There seems to a be a problem in the way SP1 handles the partition tables which might cause it to corrupt OSX's partition table information. Oh, and unless you have the SP2 update in a CD/DVD you're not going to be able to install the drivers that came with bootcamp nor will you be able to set the default operating system to boot up.
     
  9. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #9
    for some reason, after you load XP (without any SP, or with SP1), you can't upgrade to SP2 with disk or downloaded file... it kept on saying you are short by 4MB on disk space or something..

    i dont understand why that happened, and it has happened to more than just me for me to believe it's my problem

    i loaded XP onto Vaio before and upgraded to SP2 with no problem, but somehow via bootcamp on mac it doesn't work...

    slipstream worked well tho, try that
     
  10. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    Most likely something to do with the non-standard (i.e. non-XP standard) partition table and "BIOS" Boot Camp presents. SP2 "gets it", but SP1 doesn't.

    B
     
  11. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #11
    You need SP2 for SATA drives which all Intel Macs have. You might try unhooking the PATA Optical drives and try that with a PATA HDD.
     

Share This Page