Anyone use a USB3.0 Scratch Disk?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Ifti, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I edit with FCPX using a FW800 scratch disk. Although it seems OK, does anyone edit with a USB3 scratch disk at all??

    I understand FW800 is better for editing due to the way it streams data rather then USB3, which sends it in bursts, but with the speed difference of USB3 I wonder if it would be fine, if no better, for editing regardless?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Depends on what footage you edit and what codec it uses and if you can profit from 30 more MB/s.

    I get 80 to 90 MB/s via USB 3.0 which probably is due to the chipset in the docking station. But then again, I only use a Hackintosh and will build the HDDs into the case.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I use FCPX with ProRes422 footage....
     
  4. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #4
    I have a WD USB 3 2TB drive which I use with my rMBP, but it's nowhere near fast enough for me to use in real time work...For that I use a Pegasus R4 connected to my iMac...The WD is really just a bulk storage device which it does well. If you can run to thunderbolt, WD make a very affordable 6TB unit...my buddy next door has one and uses it in real time...Plenty fast and not super expensive...around half the cost of the Promise stuff...Not fancy, but adequate.
     
  5. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    How many concurrent streams? For one stream or two, Firewire will be fine, for more the actual HDD will be the slow one, as it has to play three files or more from three different sector areas.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    I do have a Drobo 5D, which uses Thunderbolt, which Ive been considering using - but need to buy myself a reliable 3m cable in that case as 2m would be too restrictive! I guess thats the best option all round though, although I do like have th eprotability when using a smaller bus powered HDD!

    I usually only work with one or two streams to be honest.....
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Considering a Buffalo MiniStation 256GB SSD to use via Thunderbolt and just be done with it!
     

Share This Page