Anyone use KVM?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by tuartboy, Jun 29, 2005.

  1. tuartboy macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #1
    I have a new PB and I need to get a kvm to attach it to my current desktop setup. I am looking for a recommendation for a good, cheap, 2 system kvm that i know works well with macs.

    Need:
    USB output for PB
    output can be ps2 or USB for desktop.
    2 computer unit (4 if it's cheap)
    I'm getting memory from newegg, so it would be nice if it was there too...

    that's it.

    Thanks for the suggestions.
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #2
    Belkin. Make sure the one you get also lets you plug in your speakers so you can use those between the two.
     
  3. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #3
    I have an iogear usb kvm and it also has audio. works great.
     
  4. tuartboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

    tuartboy

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #4
    either of you have any links to a specific model?
     
  5. pulsewidth947 macrumors 65816

    pulsewidth947

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    squarefrog.co.uk
    #5
    I have a Belkin F1DK102UUK KVM which I've used between my PC and Mini Mac. For the price its not bad, you dont get sound switching tho.

    It can be a bit buggy sometimes i.e. mouse and keyboard not switching over properly, randomly switching to the other screen when you boot up the PC. Sometimes PC doesnt recognise it, although I blame MS for that :)

    But for £25, I really cant complain. Came with cables and stuff :D
     
  6. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #6
    my iogear is a "GCS632U"
     

Share This Page