Anyone use protools on current PB?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by supersalzme, Dec 8, 2005.

  1. supersalzme macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #1
    I asked a similar question to this awhile back, but it was more if I should wait to get the new PB, or just get the current one. Does anyone in here run protools on the current PB, if so, how well does it run?
     
  2. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
  3. supersalzme thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #3
    Yeah, I'm sorry about that...I feel like a total n00b, I didn't even see that their was a digital audio forum.

    I did browse through the digital audio forum, but I still feel a bit lost. One question I'm not quite sure about is....will protools be running through emulation on the new intels? I'm thinking I might just want to buy the current powerbook....and use it for a portable(and recording for the time being...seeing I'm new to recording so I'm not a master at is or anything)...and buy a desktop in like a year or so for heavy recording work. I'm figuring by then the dual's will go down in price...and I already have two really nice flatscreen moniters I could run with it. Does this sound like a good call?
     
  4. WinterMute Moderator emeritus

    WinterMute

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    As far as I know OSX will not be emulated on the intel processors, but how long it will take Digidesign to release drivers is anyone's guess, it was a three month wait when Tiger arrived.

    You will certainly get more milage out of a dual G5 desktop with a pair of screens, the current PowerBooks are a little long in the tooth and won't give you the same level of performance despite still being the sexiest laptops on the planet...

    I wouldn't buy 1st gen hardware anyway, so realistically you're looking at Sept/Nov 2006 before the Intel machines become viable in my book.
     
  5. Joeytpg macrumors 6502

    Joeytpg

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #5

    Same here WinterMute....i just don't trust Rev A's, specially after such a huge change like Intel-macs. I'm in big corner because i need to buy a new computer, and and iMac would be the perfect buy, but i need portability....so a Powerbook Rev E will be.....and in a year of so i'll try to get a new imac-intel
     
  6. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    Agreed I'm waiting until at least the new year 2007. Then all software should be optimised and any teething problems will be ironed out.

    I run the the new ProTools 7 LE on my Powerbook 15" with Digi 02 Rack.
    It's grand and have no real problems, obviously cant use as many plugins as you can with a G5. Antares Auto Tune 4 on a load of tracks will grind it, but the solution is simple, just bounce the track once its how you want it and you don't have to use the plug in, draining cpu.

    I sometimes if I want to be more portable use an Mbox with the powerbook and have recorded a few concerts. I love the PB :D
     
  7. supersalzme thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    #7
    Yeah...I'm going to wait till Janaury I think...not because I plan on buying the intel powerbook...but that I'm guessing the powerbooks will drop in price...making it possible for me to get the 17" for the price of a 15"....because we all know the current 15" are just not worth picking up.
     

Share This Page