Anyone use the Note 2 as a data only "tablet" with a data plan?

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by spinedoc77, Feb 5, 2013.

  1. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #1
    Specifically on ATT, although I'd consider other carriers if it worked. I'm not ready to replace my ip5 with the Note 2, it's just too big as a phone. But I'd love to carry one around in addition to my ip5 as a "tablet", to use for internet, video, RDP into windows, etc.

    I doubt ATT would let me add it for $10 to my mobile share plan, but has anyone done this? Absent this I'm thinking I could pop out my ipad SIM card which is on a $10 mobileshare plan and pop it into the Note 2 and change the APN settings for data, would this work?
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    blackhand1001

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    #2
    Why not just get a nexus 7 hspa+ or wait for the galaxy note 8 lte.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    b166er

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Location:
    Philly
    #3
    I wish they would allow it. But it would crush their margins, since you could just use skype and replace your phone with a data only plan. However if you do figure out a way let us know!
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #4
    They are too big, I need something pocketable.

    ----------

    Hmm, but you can do this with any other ipad or tablet, but chances are people don't want to use those as phones I suppose. Does ATT explicitly not allow this?
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    TheHateMachine

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #5
    Or even better use Google voice and get a real phone number with free calls and sms!
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    LSUtigers03

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    #6
    They don't allow smartphones to have a non smartphone data plan. I know people have had success using International phones with cheaper data plans because AT&T sometimes can't identify the device by the imei. If you try to use an AT&T device then they probably won't let you add it as a tablet. Go to xda and see if anyone has tried this with the International Note 2.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    #7

    Dang, TY for the info. So if I swapped my ipad SIM and got it to work what would ATT do? Oh well, I can always tether it.
     

Share This Page