Anyone used a 2GB ram module in a Powerbook?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by munckee, Apr 18, 2006.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #1
    I noticed a retailer selling a 2GB ram module for Powerbook G4's. Anyone have experience with these?

    I know that the 15", for example, is listed as using 2GB of ram max; does anyone know if this is limited by the hardware somehow, or if that's simply because bigger modules weren't available at the time the computer came out?
     
  2. macrumors 604

    kretzy

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #2
    I always thought that that the maximum was two 1GB sticks because of hardware restrictions. I could be wrong though.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I read that it is possible. I'm guessing the limit is because of the fact there were no 2GB SO-DIMM modules when the PowerBook was first released.

    Rich.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #4
    How much are those? IIRC they are extremely expensive!
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #5
    Apparently what I saw that I thought was a 2GB module was actually a 2 x 1GB kit. It wasn't well-specified on the site.
     

Share This Page