Anyone using 802.1X?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Tanegashima, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #1
    Hi.

    Does 10.7 have support for 802.1X networks? My college uses WPA Enterprise with 802.1X auth (TTLS/PAP).

    802.1X section doesn't have anything! :eek: (no "+" button)
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
    #2
    I won't be at a 802.1X network until tomorrow. I can check then and get back to you.
     
  3. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #3
    I don't have any 802.1X network until tomorrow too but right now the menu does not have the "+" button do add a profile! :(
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
    #4
    I noticed that too. Hopefully tomorrow it will work. If not, I will have to switch to Snow Leopard partition. :(
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Steve Ballmer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    #5
    It's already been reported it's not working in this build.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    eli8527

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    #6
    802.1x works for me..
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
    #7
    Where has that been reported?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #8
    It appears that 802.1X has been updated (and about time!).

    With the new implementation, to install a profile, you need a .config file with the correct information (i.e. like it is on the iPad/ iPhone).

    I haven't tested it in action yet, but the profile I tried installed with no probs.

    802.1X in Mac OS X was always a dog's dinner, and I am *very* pleased that they are rethinking it in Lion. :-D
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #9
    Its like iPhone and iPad?

    Can I install profiles created with iPhone Configuration Utility?
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #10
    It looks like it! why don't you give it a try?
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Portugal
    #11
  12. danb77, Feb 28, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    #12
    I just tried it myself. It works fantastically! Sooooooo much easier to configure than the previous setup (e.g. as easy as the iphone).

    Very pleased with this! :-D

    Just to describe how I set it up - easiest setup ever - the Mac auto detected the certificates and settings, all I needed to enter was my username and password - no profile required!

    Finally, "it just works" enterprise networking. We've waited long for this!
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Idaho
    #13
    I said I would get back to you. Works just fine today. No bugs as of yet.
     
  14. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #14
    I've installed the same profile i have in my iPhone and everything works like a charm! :)

    Didn't have to add network or anything just the profile installed and it connected at first! ;)
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Location:
    Long Island
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thank god for this thread. I was going to install lion tonight on my school laptop. Wouldn't have had anything for when I get on campus tomorrow.
     

Share This Page