Anyway to give Intel Mini Dual Display Ouput?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fh2level, May 15, 2006.

  1. fh2level macrumors regular

    fh2level

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Location:
    ATL
    #1
    I need a new desktop and was going to get a new Mac Mini Intel just for now until I have money and the new Intel PowerMacs come out but I am really hooked on dual monitors and have two sitting here. Is there anyway to add a second display output onto a mini?
     
  2. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    With a switch, but you will only be able to use one at a time.

    It is using the integrated video, don't know if the chipset is capable of supporting dual monitors or not.

    Basically a standard PC chipset, with a bunch of Mac I/O tagged to PCI/USB/etc. busses.
     
  3. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
  4. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #4
  5. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #5
    Probably, KVM sells a bunch of port sharing and port mirroring solutions.

    It's when you want spanning that you'll run into more expensive solutions, driver/chipset issues.
     
  6. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #6

    I am guessing you would just end up with the same image on both monitors...You'll need something a little more sophisticated, like that matrox solutions.
     
  7. gammamonk macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI

Share This Page