AOL for macs?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Wano, Apr 15, 2003.

  1. Wano macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    #1
    I was wondering what the latest version of AOL is for macs? Thanks!
     
  2. RBMaraman macrumors 65816

    RBMaraman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Prospect, KY
    #2
    The latest version is just called AOL For Mac OS X. It doesn't have a build number (i.e. 8.0) like the Windows version.

    Let me give you some advice. DUMP AOL! I used to be on AOL, and I recently switched to EarthLink (EarthLink is the best ISP I have ever used!). AOL for Mac is horrible. I couldn't stay connected for longer than 15 minutes without getting kicked off. Switch to EarthLink, register a free AIM screen name to use with iChat, and browse the web without problems. AOL is not worth the headaches it'll give you.
     
  3. Freg3000 macrumors 68000

    Freg3000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Location:
    New York
    #3
    There are two answers. The latest general version was released in November of last year, and can be found here:

    http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/internet_utilities/aolformacosx.html

    However, AOL conducts a beta testing program, which is up to version 205E (Don't ask me what the numbers mean). It includes many of the features that are included in AOL 8.0 for PCs. You can find it here:

    http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/internet_utilities/aolformacosx.html

    You must download it via AOL @ Keyword "macbeta" because it is not avaiable from VersionTracker or Apple.com.

    Good Luck.
     
  4. Wano thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    #4
    I personally don't like AOL, but my mom does and she pays for it, I dont think she wants to deal with trying to get another Internet Provider unless it's cheaper...how much is earthlink-dialup?
     
  5. FelixDerKater macrumors 68000

    FelixDerKater

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
  6. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #6
    don't use AOL for Mac OS X.
    it's a real piece of **** and unexpectedly quits too much:rolleyes:
     
  7. Wano thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    #7
    What should I use then?
     
  8. RBMaraman macrumors 65816

    RBMaraman

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Location:
    Prospect, KY
    #8
    It took me a month to convince my parents to switch to EarthLink, and now they can't thank me enough for making them do it! EarthLink is over $2 per month cheaper than AOL. Tell your mom that you'll agree to send out all the "I changed my email!" messages, and you'll agree to make sure here email newsletter stuff gets changes as well. That's what I did, and my parents decided to switch. Believe me when I say it: The words AOL and Mac should never be put in the same sentence. AOL for Mac is just plain horrible.
     
  9. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #9
    get DSL or cable.
     
  10. Wano thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    #10
    It's not available where I live, since I live about two miles out of city limits.
     
  11. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #11
    oh then in that case i guess dialup is okay.
     
  12. AphexThrice macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #12
    I would never use AOL because they have extreme problems in their security department. This is a multi-billion dollar company that needs to get their act together.

    Visit http://www.Observers.net and learn about some things that AOL has done or neglected to do.

    -Matt
     
  13. ibookin' macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #13
    AOL for OS X is awful, use Earthlink.

    I feel your pain in the no broadband issue. Until recently, my area had no broadband access. I was stuck on AOL for years. Adelphia has finally offered cable in my area and I'm getting that.
     
  14. janey macrumors 603

    janey

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    sunny los angeles
    #14
    he's right, earthlink is better than AOL.
    btw josh, since you can't get dsl in your area, why not move closer to me so you can get über fast DSL?
     
  15. zulgand04 macrumors regular

    zulgand04

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Northborough, MA
    #15
    the beta version is better then the GM version, but still lacks many of the features avaiable in the windows 8.0 version, for example almost none of the broadband content is compatible with mac all u get is a message saying this is not avaiable for mac. i would get rid of aol but i don't really feel like changing my email adress.

    -neal
     
  16. NavyIntel007 macrumors 65816

    NavyIntel007

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #16
    www.netzero.com

    They are like $10 a month. I don't know anyone who's on it but it claims to be fast and cheap and just recently for mac.

    I concur with everyone about AOL in here. It's not just bad for mac, It's bad all around. My parents use it because my dad does alot of business in Latin America and that's the only company that offers the dial up numbers for those countries. I have bellsouth DSL at home though.

    Though pricey, you should look into satellite broadband.
     
  17. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #17
    i used to dabble with netzero way back when it was free but I was never that impressed. Also most satelite broadband services require a PC to connect the USB modem too i think. Then you can use windwos connection sharing from there. But its still a hassle if you don't have a PC around.
     
  18. icetraxxg5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Location:
    Commerce Township
    #18

    The modems (atleast the ones I have seen) have an ethernet jack.
     
  19. BigJayhawk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #19
    Broadband for MAC is Rare and EXPENSIVE!

    There are two types (well MAIN types) of Broadband for MAC.

    1) Broadband Downloads and Telephone Line Uploads. Still uses up a phone line so what's the point???

    2) Broadband Downloads and Uploads. VERY, VERY expensive -- i.e. upwards of $70/$80 per month with taxes.

    I pay a lot for Broadband (about $55-$60) whereas my old area was down around $35-$40. Both for Cable. However, getting closer to the $100/mo. mark is a bit crazy.
     
  20. zarathustra macrumors 6502a

    zarathustra

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #20
    Re: Broadband for MAC is Rare and EXPENSIVE!

    It's Mac, not MAC - recent switcher? Also, someone correct me if I am wrong, but as long as they can get the DSL or cable to your cable or DSL modem, it really doesn't matter diddly-squat if you use Mac or PC (or Linux). As long as you have the right settings and setup, PPPoE, or DHCP, or whatever.
     
  21. iElvis macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2003
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #21
    I hated Netzero for PC. Their software often crashed on my computer...so i couldn't get connected. Its worse than AOL cuz (well the pc version) it takes up screen space and doesn't let anything over it.

    I also had AOL for PC way back in 98. I didn't like it once i had switched to earthlink. Earthlink was way better.

    Right now i'm using mc.net which is a local ISP. I'm friends with the President of the company and he's hosting my website. Its so far the best dialup I've used or seen.
     
  22. pretentious macrumors regular

    pretentious

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Location:
    "Reality"
    #22
    BS!....

    I'm paying $25 for 128k cable broadband with full support for Mac, and zara is absolutly right it dosent mean diddy crap if it says Mac or PC. Althogh some companys say only PC so thay can put some crap spyware on your computer!
     
  23. BigJayhawk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #23
    Good thing you two seem to KNOW . . .

    Good thing you two seem to KNOW that ANY internet works for PC or MAC (and yes I can choose to emphasize the abbreviation MAC with all caps should I choose to).

    Unfortunately, you are both wrong. The interaction of the Satellite Broadband using both Satellite and Phone Lines has proprietary software that manages the usage of a different transit point for the downstream and the upstream.

    It's no big thing that you don't know this because in a LOGICAL WORLD you would both be right but not all of the world is actually plug-and-play.

    As for this "newbie," for reference, my GUESS (just a guess) is that I've personally owned more MACS/Macs than both of you put together considering I currently have my 25th, 26th, and 27th MACS in use (simply see my signature listed just below). And as for administrating, I'm in the hundreds on both MACS and PC's. Sorry you missed that call too.
     
  24. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #24
    one of my friends has directway and from what he says it is something about deecoding satelite signals..... this is from their FAQ. It requires u have a PC and u use ICS to share it with other computers.

    Q: What are my PC system requirements?
    A: The minimum PC requirements for DIRECWAY® are:



    __Pentium II 333 MHz or faster
    __64MB RAM (Windows 98SE and Windows Me); 128MB RAM (Windows 2000 and Windows XP)
    __20 MB of free hard drive space
    __Analog modem ? used for commissioning the account and occasional troubleshooting
    __One available USB port
    __CD-ROM drive


    Q: Is DIRECWAY compatible with my MAC?
    A: DIRECWAY is not currently compatible with Mac, UNIX, or Linux Operating Systems.
     
  25. Kwyjibo macrumors 68040

    Kwyjibo

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    #25
    As for dialup, I don't suggest AOL either, my family used it for many years, they loved the covneince of all in one and I guess I love it too (ONLY in terms of dealing with problems they might have with outlook). I never used Earthlink but make sure when your proice shopping you check hourly limits per day even if you have unlimted hours per month. Often times bareboens ISPS limit this in your TOS and more than a few hours online per day and your account is booted. Just food for thought.
     

Share This Page