AOL Help

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Chillax, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Chillax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    #1
    Hi!

    I would like to know if it's possible to connect to the internet via AOL with the built in modem preference pane in System Preferences.

    I just don't want to use the AOL app itself. :)

    Oh, and, I'm running Mac OS X Tiger 10.4.6 on an iBook G4 1.42GHz, 80GB HD, and 1.5GB RAM.
     
  2. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
    #2
    Sorry, you can't do that, the only way to connect to the AOL service is through the AOL program itself.
     
  3. ero87 macrumors 65816

    ero87

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Location:
    New York City
    #3
    well, you can get aol mail at aol.com if that helps :cool:
     
  4. Chillax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    #4
    Um - no. I need to connect to the Internet via AOL but I don't want to use the program.
     
  5. SheriffParker macrumors 6502a

    SheriffParker

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Location:
    The land of love
    #5
    When I had AOL on my PC years ago, I could do just that. I was on dial up, but these were the steps.

    1. Open aol. Sign in and dial up... wait for connection.
    2. Once connected, minimize aol in your startbar.
    3. Open internet explorer or netscape or whatever browser you want.

    Try that. Signing in on aol should give you an internet connection. Try opening IE or Safari and see what happens.
     
  6. Chillax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    #6
    Maybe I wasn't clear enough.

    I don't want to use the AOL program. At all. I don't want it open.

    I know the access numbers and I have a screen name and password for it. I just wanna connect via Apple's dial up-er. :eek: :confused:
     
  7. SheriffParker macrumors 6502a

    SheriffParker

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Location:
    The land of love
    #7
    What's wrong with minimizing/hiding aol and going on your merry way?
     
  8. lordmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    #8
    Of course its possible, oh silly silly mac rumor members.

    Even though you all seem very sure of your selves this is impossible it is actully very possible. All you need is AOL connect, it lets you use aol as an ip but with out using the horrible aol for mac client.

    If I understood what you were saying that should be perfect. Here is the link to the page with all of aol's software for the mac: http://downloads.channel.aol.com/macproducts

    Enjoy.
     
  9. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
  10. Chillax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
  11. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
  12. Chillax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    #12
    Some interesting facts:
    • Universal
    • Made in June
    • Not a RAM hog
    • User Friendly
    • Lets you use iChat, Mail, and Safari simultaneously
    • & More

    It just goes on the top bar, a screenie is included. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #13
    The fact that you still have to install it. ;)
     
  14. Chillax thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    #14
    AOL the actual application is VERY unstable. :(
     
  15. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #15
    how about stop useing such an awefull ISP, others are cheaper faster less annoying and more reliable.
     
  16. McBain macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    #16
    AOL *spits*

    I'm forced to use this for work and I have to say it's probably one of the worst programs I've ever used.

    On PC it's fine, but on Mac it's a buggy mess. I'm in it for a few hours a day and the time just drags. My 1.33 GHz G4 is slayed by this abomination. The CPU is often running at 100% depending on how many AOL web windows I have open.

    Thanks for the AOL Connect link. I use dial-up out of necessity sometimes so that will be a big help.

    *grumble*
     
  17. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    why they hell would your employer make you use aol dial up, i'd have to work with whoever is in charge.
     
  18. bbrosemer macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #18
    Its pretty bad when you have to train your customer service reps into how to trick a customer into staying with a company.
     
  19. Roba macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    #19
    I tried AOL on my MBP in March-May and it was pretty bad so i removed it.
    I actually put AOL on my XP side of my drive because i was tired of having to constantly sign into AOL all the time on AOL.com because for me after a while it really became annoying doing this. Also, i needed access to my homepage from time to time and signing into AOL.com alone did not allow me to do this.

    I just tried downloading AOL again today and there does seem to be an improvement in things. It doesn't appear to crash as it did before when i try to read mail anymore which is great.
    I just removed AOL from my Windows hard drive because it appears that i now have a useable version that i can use using Mac software.
     

Share This Page