AOL IM problems

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by UserofMacOSX, Jan 12, 2007.

1. UserofMacOSX macrumors member

UserofMacOSX

Hi, this is my first post here, I have been a Mac user for about a year now, and will never go back to a PC! I am also new to vBulletin boards, I am used to phpBB ones, but this seems easy enough. My problem is that whenever I use the two-finger scroll on my iBook G4 it causes the application to quit, and I get the "The application AOL Instant Messenger has quit unexpectedly" message. But it never does anything except when I scroll with it in the foreground, any other time I can scroll as long as an actual IM window isn't in the foreground.
    Thanks for any help!
    UserofMacOSX

2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

EricNau

Have you tried using iChat instead? (It's fully compatible with AIM.)

3. UserofMacOSX thread starter macrumors member

UserofMacOSX

You may have to fill me in on how to get everything switched over to it. I'd like to stick with the Apple programs, but I haven't even ran half of them since I got this computer.

4. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

TheAnswer

Yeah...see if iChat works better for you. Or you check out Adium which will let you chat with your MSN and Yahoo buddies if you have a lot of them.

5. After G macrumors 68000

After G

Switching to iChat:

1) Open iChat; in the iChat menu click on Preferences.
    2) In the Accounts pane, click the + on the lower left to add an account.
    3) Check "Use this account" and "automatically log me in" so you login whenever you start iChat.

Attached Files:

6. EricNau Moderator emeritus

EricNau

Open up iChat, go to Preferences > Accounts and click the "+" button in the lower left corner. Select AIM as the account type, enter your screen name & password (and add a description if you wish).