AOL users & Call Waiting?????

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by benwa02, Jul 22, 2005.

  1. benwa02 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #1
    I am using AOL dial-up right now and on my PC when someone called I would get bumped offline and the phone would ring allowing me not to tie up the line. But I am unable to do this on my Mac. When someone calls it just keeps ringing for them and I never get bumped off. So right now I am tying up my line and missing all calls. I have no clue what is wrong with my settings they seem to be exactly the same as I had them on my PC.

    Can anyone please help me on this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. neocell macrumors 65816

    neocell

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Location:
    Great White North
    #2
    I haven't used AOL dialup but have you gone into system preferences and adjusted the modem settings so that you'd be informed of a call?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    There is a standard code appended to your access telephone number string that disables call-waiting. It is not a Windows thing; it is not a Mac thing; it is a telephone line thing. You can find the code during an expert setup of a new access number in the AOL Mac client. You may enable it with the click of a simple checkbox.
     
  4. ravenvii macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #4
    AOL... *scrambles into corner shaking with fear* Why? For the love of god and all that is holy, why??? *weeps*
     
  5. benwa02 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #5
    Yes I have gone into that and cant figure it out.
     
  6. benwa02 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #6
    Within AOL I do not have it set to disable call-waiting.

    *70 is the number and I do not have that attached to my dialout numbers.
     
  7. benwa02 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #7
    Huh? I am only using AOL as a guest under my Gramps account so to me its free internet. I just use it to get online, trust me I hate AOL too and would never buy it and once it gets me online I dont use it for anything else. Its better than no Internet.

    But I cant figure this out and it sucks. Cuz I cant be tying up my house line as we need to get calls.

    Thanks.
     
  8. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #8
    It's been a while since I've used dialup, but I do remember this problem. It turned out that the modem's error correction was too good. You might try playing with error correction settings, but some modems just wouldn't give up.
     
  9. benwa02 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #9
    Alrite I just turned "Enable error correction and compression in modem" OFF. But I will call my house line in the morning else if it did work than I would wake the family up in the middle of the night.

    Good to see that Im not the only one that has had this problem.

    Ill keep yaz updated on how it went.

    Thanks.
     
  10. benwa02 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #10
    No dice with error correction and compression. All settings to me look fine. I am completely lost. I have no idea what to do.

    Whats with the setting "Notify me of incoming calls while connected to the Internet" if I never get notified, whats up with that?
     

Share This Page