aperature academic vs. commercial

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by bearbo, Oct 30, 2006.

  1. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #1
    is there any differences between the academic version of aperture and commercial version of it?

    i was at the apple store past weekend, and they were telling me that the academic version of aperture cannot be upgraded and etc, is that true?

    is there any other differences? thanks
     
  2. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #2
    There was not yet been an upgrade to Aperture that requires payment to Apple. The only upgrde related comment I've seen on the Apple web site is this (quoted from the academic store's software page)

    "All current owners of Aperture will automatically receive the free upgrade to Aperture 1.5 via Software Update. "

    We know for sure that, so far the academic version has been upgradable just like the full priced version. But on one has yet had to pay for a version upgrade.
     
  3. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #3
    Aside from the upgradability (or lack thereof), the only differences are that your loading screen says "Aperture Academic", and your user agreement says that you won't use the software for professional purposes (i.e. as a source of revenue.)
     
  4. bog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #4
    I own Aperture Academic 1.5 and I'm not able (or given the opportunity) to upgrade to 1.5.1... This may answer the question!
     
  5. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #5
    Please don't fill the forum with misinformation. Aperture academic is upgradeable to 1.5.1. However, Apple has not pushed 1.5.1 out to all their software update servers as of yet.

    I own Aperture academic and 1.5.1 installed just fine (manually).

    Aperture academic will NOT be upgradeable to Aperture 2.0 (provided 2.0 is a new version, and not a free upgrade also).
     
  6. John T macrumors 68020

    John T

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Location:
    UK.
    #6
    So therefore, Bog's statement may be correct ? ;)
     
  7. bog macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #7
    I was typing my serial number in wrong, success downlading the software manually. All software update servers aren't been synchronized I guess. Thanks for your feedback.
     

Share This Page