Aperture 1.5.1, XTI and D80 Raw Support

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by robbieduncan, Nov 2, 2006.

  1. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Coming soon.

    I'm so excited. I've not been able to use it properly yet as I have an XTI.

    In addition Apple will be offering a demo so you can all try it out too :D
     
  2. Karpfish macrumors 6502a

    Karpfish

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    #2
    they are included in the 1.5.1 update, which is now available, and the demo is on the ***** www.apple.com/aperture on the right
     
  3. robbieduncan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    1.5.1 and the updated RAW support installed. Kiss Digital X RAW files still unusable. :mad: Very mad now
     
  4. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #4
    where is the updater file stored? i updated my aperture thru the software update, but i just thought maybe i should keep a copy of that updater thingy, in case in the future if i need to reinstall aperture, i can still get the updater... but when i went to apple's website to try to download that updater, it said i already downloaded... what's the deal?
     
  5. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #6
    what if one day i have to reinstall OS X, then what am i supposed to do about aperture?
     
  6. Karpfish macrumors 6502a

    Karpfish

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    #7
    you reinstall aperture and the updates?ive done it before, no problems
     
  7. Dark macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #8
    I've done it before too without any problems. Don't sweat it.
     
  8. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #9
    but if it says i can only download the updater once, how do i re-download it? or is software update still going to allow the update, just not manually download it from apple's website?
     
  9. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #10
    Are there 3rd party plug-ins for other digital camera RAW files that aren't officially supported? I have a Fujifilm Finepix S6000/6500. I would be interested in using Aperture for my RAW processing if that's possible, but I don't want to buy it and have it not work.

    Thanks!
    OA
     
  10. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #11
    You have the working wrong. It's not "can only download the updater once" is should be "can onlu download the updater if you don't already have it". In the case where your hard drive smokes and yoou don't have a current backup you woud have to install whatever version of Aperture you have (like version 1.0) and then let it update what whatever is then current (like maybe 1.5.4)
     
  11. robbieduncan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #12
    Basically not possible. RAW support does not reply on or even support plugins or any form of extension. RAW support is provided at an OS level by a single binary RAW library and a configuration file that tells the OS some settings to use on a per-camera basis. If your camera uses the EXACT same sensor as another, supported, model then you can add an entry to the configuration file for it, otherwise no go.
     
  12. Over Achiever macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #13
    Ah, I didn't know it was OS-level, I thought the RAW translating was within the program or plug-ins (like the Adobe RAW plug-ins). Is it possible to convert the file in Adobe to a "standard" RAW format and use that standard (is it .dng?) in other programs? I don't like my RAW workflow to go through Photoshop (I'd rather use Aperture or Silkypix for that).

    Thanks!
     
  13. robbieduncan thread starter Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #14
    Aperture only supports DNG files created from RAW files it supports! Or so I've heard...
     

Share This Page