Aperture 1.5.2 and Airport Update 2006-002

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Dec 14, 2006.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Over the past few days, Apple has released updates to Aperture and Airport.

    Aperture 1.5.2

    Aperture 1.5.2 addresses issues related to overall reliability and performance in a number of areas, including:

    - Contact sheet printing
    - Smart Albums
    - Watermarks
    - Lift and stamp
    - Image export
    - Versions created using an external editor

    This update is recommended for all Aperture users.

    Airport Update 2006-002

    AirPort Update 2006-002 improves AirPort compatibility in the following computers:

    - MacBook Pro (15-inch Core 2 Duo)
    - MacBook Pro (17-inch Core 2 Duo)
    - MacBook (13-inch Core 2 Duo)

    Article Link: Aperture 1.5.2 and Airport Update 2006-002
     
  2. macrumors 604

    ravenvii

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Location:
    Melenkurion Skyweir
    #2
    No updates for older hardware? What exactly does the AirPort update fix?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
  4. macrumors 6502a

    geerlingguy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Location:
    The Midwest, USA
    #4
    Page 2?

    Couldn't incremental updates / small bugfixes be relegated to page 2 news? I think page 1 should be reserved for biggies... like big rumors, product announcements, and major updates (like Aperture 2 or Photoshop CS3).
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    BWhaler

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    #5
    I was hoping the airport update fixed the problems with airport in my office, but alas it dropped a connection an hour ago.

    Perhaps the airport sucks? Is anyone else having problems with them?
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    #6
    I hope this fixes the airport signal dropping issues ive been having on my MBP C2D. Ill keep you posted on whether its made a difference.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    runplaysleeprun

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #7
    Were these the computers that had the N-capable cards in them?
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    #8
    Beat me to it. But its also C2D iMac's. I got this update, but have no N points around me i can check, if anyone has any they can check let us know
     
  9. macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #9
    No, N has been around longer then that in Macs (though not supported or documented). I believe that Windows reports that MacBooks were the first to ship with an N chipset, and the iMac C2Ds certainly shipped with them. I think this has nothng to do with N support, something I expect that we will see unleashed at MacWorld with iTV and maybe even Leopard.
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    #10
    Ummmm. Where the hell have you guys been again? Apple released this on Monday.
     
  11. SMM
    macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #11
    No problems for my company. :)
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    daveL

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Location:
    Montana
    #12
    Even before this update, I hadn't had any issues with wifi performance on my 17" C2D MBP. Just yesterday I connected, and stayed connected, to 3 different (completely different) wifi locations.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    #13
    That would mean 1 news item a week.

    Just because it doesn't help your old computer....
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #14
    That's what I was thinking!
     
  15. macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #15
    Submitted the Airport story yesterday but its nowhere to be found BUT yeah......updates yesterday. Yesterdays news today.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    #16
    they NEED to get one for macbooks!

    my airport is sooo messed.

    disc. way too often (and its not the network!) pc laptop running fine right beside mines :(
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    #17
    did anyone's apeture suddenly get a billion duplicates in their keywords? I have no idea how to fix this... I have duplicates, and they seem to be assigned to different pictures :(
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #18
    Could Apple be any more vague about what the Airport Update fixes? They should include some text detailing the specific issues addressed. This is standard practice with any other manufacturer. Sheesh.

    mark
     
  19. macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy part of the Pacific NW
    #19
    I've had zero problems with my Airport wireless, both prior to and after the update. It does sound like the new cards may have some compatibility issues with some particular base stations, though. I'd be curious to hear what model base station(s) (if known) are involved, from the people experiencing the problems.

    Actually in my experience what you're describing is quite rare; and I end up dealing with a wide variety of hardware directly and indirectly. What really bugs me is when companies like MS will provide what looks like a detailed list of fixes, which end up having been heavily massaged to the point of obfuscating any real information.

    I agree with the sentiment though - I wish it were standard practice for all companies, including Apple, to provide accurate and detailed information regarding their patches.
     
  20. Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Kepler-452b
  21. macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #21
    i'm thinking this could be 802.11n related, but i could be wrong.
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    #22
    Hidden SSIDs

    This update appears to have fixed the hidden SSID issue I was having on my 15" C2D MBP. Every time I rebooted, shut down, or put the laptop to sleep, it would not rejoin any wireless network with a hidden SSID, but the passwords were still saved in the Keychain. Seems to be working now!
     
  23. macrumors 603

    SiliconAddict

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #23
    My guess is drivers for the pre N chips in the C2's. The Core Duos have straight up .11G The WIFI hardware is pre N in the C2's. While they aren’t going to be showing up as N hardware in OS X anytime soon its probably just better compatibility with OS X more then anything else.
     
  24. macrumors 603

    SiliconAddict

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #24

    Not really.

    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/support/default.mspx
    \/
    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/bulletin/ms06-dec.mspx
    \/
    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/Bulletin/MS06-072.mspx

    MS's website is insanely detailed as long as you know where to look.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    geerlingguy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Location:
    The Midwest, USA
    #25
    Perhaps... but stories like this don't make me excited to be a MacRumers.com RSS feed subscriber. I get excited there's a new story, only to find it's the same boring story I've seen on other Mac sites earlier, and already downloaded via Software Update.
     

Share This Page