Aperture 3 on large 2560 x 1440 screen, macbook with intel 3000 + I5 2.3ghz

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by DrD, Apr 14, 2013.

  1. DrD
    macrumors member

    DrD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #1
    I am wondering about running aperture 3 on large external 2560 x 1440 screen, connected to my 2011 macbook pro. Not so much a question of IF it will work, just how well it will run.

    The macbook pro specs are:
    Intel HD 3000
    Core I5 2.3 ghz
    4 gb ram

    I don't plan to run much, if anything, else in the background. It'd just be a way of taking my photo library with me on the go, while also letting me do some nice pixel peeping and professional editing at home on a big screen.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    I have a Thunderbolt display that I have attached to my 2012 MBA and it was fine for Aperture. I often bring the ATD with me when I am working remote at my beach condo.

    At home, the ATD is attached to my 27" iMac... and then I run Aperture in dual display mode. I typically have the secondary display set up to display a full screen view of the selected photo... but there are lots of options.

    /Jim
     
  3. DrD
    thread starter macrumors member

    DrD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #3
    Great answer. Thanks, my MBP should be speced pretty similar to your MBA, so that more or less answers that.
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    You do have an SSD correct? I find Aperture performance is quite sensitive to fast I/O. The SSD has about ~100X the IOPS of a HDD... and you can feel it in an application such as Aperture.

    /Jim
     
  5. DrD
    thread starter macrumors member

    DrD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    #5
    Not yet... but oddly enough I was planning on getting one along with the monitor at the same time. Glad to know it will help considerably.
     

Share This Page