Aperture doesn't run on a MacBook?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Caitlyn, Aug 3, 2006.

  1. Caitlyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    I just checked out Apple's system requirement page for Aperture 1.1 and I don't think it will run on a MacBook because of it's Intel Integrated Graphics. Is this true? Thanks for any input.
    -Caitlyn :)
     
  2. Glenn Wolsey macrumors 65816

    Glenn Wolsey

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
  3. Caitlyn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #3
    Oh, really? Great, Glenn. Thanks for the info! :)
     
  4. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #4
    It does run but don't expect any help if you encounter problems:

     
  5. Caitlyn thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #5
    Ok, cool. But what problems? Like if the program doesn't work. I got that. But like the app isn't gonna like damage my video card or something right?
     
  6. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

    FleurDuMal

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    London Town
    #6
    Running Aperture on your Macbook won't damage your hardware at all.

    Apple's position regarding running Aperture on a Macbook is actually quite cheeky and pretty shows that sometimes they look upon their customers as idiots. The only reason that the Macbook isn't officially supported is because they want to promote their 'pro' line of software as only compatible with 'pro' line machines, thus trying to get the more guillable customer to fork out a few extra £100's for a MBP or Powermac/MacPro. At the same time, they know the more dedicated amateur will look on forums such as these and notice that they actually can run Aperture and so will go out and buy it, whilst at the same time shirking any responsibility if the software doesn't run properly by saying it isn't 'officially supported'.
     
  7. hulugu macrumors 68000

    hulugu

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    the faraway towns
    #7
    It could melt the video card enough to cause it to phase change into a new element like unobtanium, but that's just an outside chance. :)
     
  8. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #8
    Well they get hot enough (if your'e unlucky). :eek:
     

Share This Page