Aperture on MBA

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Romulus, Nov 7, 2010.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    #1
    What's your experience?

    Also what's your experience with iPhoto - i was having issues in the past so went away from it... seems once pictures went through an edit, it took like a second to bring them up while previewing album...

    Anybody has any opinion on Picasa or Bibble?
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Kenosha, WI
    #2
    I'm using both Aperture and iPhoto on my 13" MBA and 2GB RAM with no problems at all, no lags during / after editing.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Over Achiever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Toledo, OH, formerly Twin Cities, MN
    #3
    I'm using Lightroom which is very similiar to Aperture, with no significant lag or anything. 1.6/4/128.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    very slow for me

    I bought the new MBA (13 inch, 4GB RAM and 256G HD) and I have to say my Aperture is very slow on my machine for some reason. It takes a long lag to "process" and it can't seem to upload from my card reader unless I do selected photos (such as 50 at a time). It will just keep spinning saying it's importing but it's not. I'm on the road and haven't had time to figure out what's wrong...maybe I need to reinstall Aperture??
     
  5. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
    If Lightroom is one thing, it is not similar to Aperture. AP3, is a resource hog and I found it slow and a bit laggy on my 2.53Ghz where as LR was snappy©

    btw, I still prefer aperture, its just not one of the most svelte applications ;)
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    West Haven, CT, USA
    #6
    Aperture does use the GPU heavily, unlike LR. Aperture has also gotten MUCH faster with the 3.1 update in combination with 10.6.5.

    I won't be using Aperture much on my 11.6/4/64 MBA when I get it, as I can stick primarily with Photo Mechanic while traveling (my only real use for a laptop). I'm sure it will do in a pinch, but I have a 2009 i7 iMac at home for the heavy processing work.
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    koobcamuk

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    #7
    I remember quite liking Adobe Lightroom, but I feel somewhat reluctant to change from Aperture 3. It just about runs OK on my MBP, but is by no means snappy.

    I used to run LR on my 12" Powerbook. Good times.
     
  8. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #8
    The SSD drive in my Air makes starting and using Aperture sooooo much faster than on my i7 MBP (that had a 7200RPM drive).
     

Share This Page