Aperture Stock Photos, do I have them?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by W1MRK, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. W1MRK
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #1
    Hello all. Quick question.

    Went to the Apple store to view the new iMacs to see what I could of had if I waited 6 months. (ehh)

    Played around with Aperture on the iMac and it dawned upon me that the stock images they have for people to see might come with my version of Aperture 3 from the mac app store. If so I have not been able to find them. They are nice high Megapixel images from D3's and such.

    Does anyone know where it might be located or if its not is it a downloadable option from apple? Would love to tinker with them.

    Thanks

    Mike
     
  2. W1MRK
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #2
    Update to this question. After more research I found out its called the Sample Library that was included on Retail disks at around 7gb. Is this still not offered by apple for download or is there another way to get just some of the high res pics. Just looking to play around with a few professional photos while I am learning aperture.

    I believe its called the Wyoming album.


    Any thoughts would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  3. emorydunn
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    emorydunn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Location:
    Austin Texas
    #3
    It's probably not included in the download since it's so large. But if Aperture didn't ask to either use a sample library or create a new one when it first opened then it probably doesn't have it.

    Of course, I'm sure if you looked around on the Internet you could find it.
     
  4. soLoredd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Would they let you take a USB drive in there and export the sample library?
     
  5. Igantius
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    #5
    The Sample Library is only available via the retail boxed copies – it’s never been available as a download. The tutorials in the manual don’t specifically relate to the supplied images and, if I remember rightly, the manual says that the images shown may differ to the ones actually supplied.

    There are quite a few sites that provide free high-res, professional images, so it might be worth considering those.
     
  6. W1MRK
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
  7. mackmgg
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #7
    If you call Apple and tell them you bought Aperture online and want the images, they may send you a DVD containing them. Not sure if they would, but it's worth a try
     
  8. Unpleasant
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #8
    Better yet go to a apple store and ask the manager. :)
     
  9. aristobrat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    #9
    Apple stores don't have discs with just the photos on them, FWIW.
     
  10. mackmgg
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #10
    They do not, but if you already bought Aperture, they may just give you a copy of the retail box. They did that to me when my Snow Leopard DVD was scratched
     
  11. munkees
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #11
    I would ask at the apple store if you could copy them onto a thumb drive.

    when I wanted to test out the MBA 11" they let me install plugins into aperture so I could run tests.

    They told me every system get wiped and re installed every night.
     
  12. W1MRK
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #12

    Do they have a easy way of doing that? That seems like alot of work
     
  13. mackmgg
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    mackmgg

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #13
    Yeah, you can install OS X from a pre-setup network image. They probably have an automated system do that every night
     

Share This Page