App to Tell Which Windows Taking Up Most CPU?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by mcmike100, Jan 25, 2006.

  1. mcmike100 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    #1
    I typically have 30-40 windows open in Firefox, and often everything's fine. But sometimes, my CPU usage rockets up to 70%. I think this indicates that some of the sites I have open must have big flash animations or something going. Is there some app to tell me which specific Firefox windows are taking up the CPU? I know Activity Monitor can tell me which program, but I already know it's Firefox, so I'm looking for something more specific.

    Thanks
     
  2. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    Not sure of a way to do that. My suggestion is to not have so many windows open.
     
  3. johnnybluejeans macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York, NY
  4. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    30-40 windows?!?!?!?!?! [​IMG] What do you do that needs so many up. I don't think theres and app that will tell you which windows are taking up so much CPU, but activity monitor can tell you which apps. My best suggestion, if you need that many up, at least minimize them.
     
  5. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #5
    Minimized or not, they will still consume RAM/CPU. You may try using tabs instead to see if it is a website issue or a firefox issue with that many windows.
     
  6. yankeefan24 macrumors 65816

    yankeefan24

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    true, but they use less RAM.
     
  7. johnnybluejeans macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #7
    How much porn can one person look at in a single sitting?
     
  8. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #8
    About 30—40 windows worth. Apparently.
     
  9. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #9
    That doesn't make sense. Why would minimizing a window consume less RAM? The process is still active, regardless of whether it is displayed or not.
     
  10. kwajaln macrumors 6502

    kwajaln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    CHICAGO!
    #10
    I'm still waiting to find out why the OP has 30-40 windows open at one time . . . that is insane!
     
  11. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
  12. mcmike100 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    #12
    Haha, thanks for the advice. The reason I typically have many windows open is because I browse a lot of message boards, Amazon, and wikipedia. While reading articles in wikipedia or browsing topics in Amazon, for example, I tend to open lots of books and articles in new tabs to read after I finish the one I'm on.

    I suppose I should try to do that less, but I always feel the need to be thorough and eventually read every side article related to the one I'm currently reading.
     

Share This Page