Apple 30inch Cinema Display... To get or not to Get???

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Rapmastac1, Aug 9, 2006.

  1. Rapmastac1 macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #1
    Ok, so a friend and I are looking for an LCD monitor that is very stylish. Now, a few weeks ago we saw this huuuuuge display, now is that the 30 inch Cinema display (We saw it at the Apple Store) . ? I don't know whether we should get these or not, we were looking on either gettin two 20 inch deisplays, or one Cinema Display, but I don't know. Anyone here have a Cinema 30inc display, tell us about it, what all can you hook up to it, he has an XBOX 360 that he wants to hook up to it to, are their any "converters" for that type of cennection, and does the display have a lot of, I guess it's called static (Lines constantly going down the screen) the reason I got rid of my AOC 19incher. So, if anyone has one of these babies, post some pics, and post ur experience with them...
     
  2. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #2
    If money is not an issue then I guess you can buy from apple. But there are cheaper alternatives (many would argue better quality too) that makers like Dell and samsung, and whatever else have better displays for a cheaper price.
     
  3. macdaddy121 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Georgia
    #3
    get it....it's the coolest looking display ever.
     
  4. Oofie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #4
    If I had the money Ill be getting one in a heartbeat!
     
  5. KingYaba macrumors 68040

    KingYaba

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Up the irons
    #5
    Why not two? :p
     
  6. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #6
    Now that the price had dropped, I'm getting two 23's instead of the 30. I like the idea of keeping my tool bars on one window and the viewing port on the other. I thought the 30 was just too big and my neck got a crink after using it for a half hour. Using two monitors allows you to isolate your work.
     
  7. Cybix macrumors 6502a

    Cybix

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Western Australia
    #7
    perhaps. but how cool would your xbox be on the one, single, 30" ACD. ooooh baby.

    and who says you cant isolate your work on the 30"?? work on one half if you so desire.

    the 30" is sex. do it.
     
  8. ExileinBlonde macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    #8
    The 30" display is absolutely gorgeous!! The 30" Apple display definitely does equal sex.
     
  9. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #9
    has anyone hooked up the 360 to an apple 30" display?
     
  10. Fuzzy Orange macrumors 6502

    Fuzzy Orange

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #10
    It's possible, but because of the ACD's DVI-D port, it requires a very pricey ($350, I think) adapter. Why not buy an LCD HDTV with DVI inputs? It will save a bit of money, and have the ports for the 360 and other things.
     
  11. LoveMacMini macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #11
    with the educational discount it's 1800 bux, significantly cheaper than dell's

    i say go for it!
     
  12. woodsie macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    #12
    you been watching too much porn dude! :D
     
  13. baby duck monge macrumors 68000

    baby duck monge

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    #13
    I would go for the 30" if I were able to choose. I did a very informal test with the monitors last time I was in an Apple store, and found that I had increased productivity on the 30".

    My test was performing the same manipulations in Photoshop on the same image on a 23" and a 30". These manipulations involved a fair amount of detail work, and I did them on the 30" first (so I even had more practice by the time I got to the 23"). The ability to make the image much larger on the 30" allowed me to complete the test a minute or two quicker (and this wasn't complex work or anything), and I don't think being able to move the palates away on the 23" would be that much of an improvement.

    If you need a large workspace for something, the 30" can't be beaten. If you just like to run a lot of programs at the same time 2 x 23" should be fine.
     
  14. Cocobolo macrumors member

    Cocobolo

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #14
    Way worth it...

    I finally sprung for the 30" a few months ago, and it makes me giggle like a schoolgirl every time I use it. If you do any video editing, it's may be better to get 2 monitors, just for the horizontal real estate. But if all your using it for is for movie playback, go with the 30".
     
  15. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
    #15
    You can't directly hook up an xbox to the apple cinema displays. If you want to do theat you need to get the Dell 2405fpw or the 2407fpw. Even the Dell 30" won't let you and the dell 20 inch doesn't have component input. The 2405fpw is your best bet as its cheaper and better quality than the 2407fpw. I have a 2405fpw and it works great on xbox 360.
     
  16. Grimace macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #16
    I have one -- can't imagine life without it now! :D
     
  17. Rapmastac1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Rapmastac1

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Location:
    In the Depths of the SLC!
    #17
    You know, I'm having second thots about the whole DUAL DVI thing, I mean, I want to get this now, and use it with my Macbook and/or PC, cuz I aint gettin a Mac Pro for MOOOONTHS after I get the display. I think the 23incher would do me good, I have a DVI to VGA adapter.

    But, does anyone know about this DUAL DVI thing? I mean, can I buy something from Apple so I can use it with VGA, or at least DVI?

    I currently use a 17inch and go by pretty well, but being able to have more screen estate ( and sexiness) would be way cooler.
     
  18. macenforcer macrumors 65816

    macenforcer

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Location:
    Colorado
  19. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #19
    Yeah, don't think you will get any work done on your laptop after a year with the 30.
     
  20. tipdrill407 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    #20
    No adapters will work with the 30 inch ACD, so you won't be able to use it with your Macbook, or your PC (if it doesn't have a video card that supports dual link DVI). Also in order to use your Xbox with the 30 inch ACD you need a converter that converts Component to Dual Link DVI which costs around 300 dollars. The 30 Inch ACD also has a resolution of 2560x1600 which can ONLY be powered by dual link DVI and not single link DVI or VGA.
     
  21. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #21
    I'd definetely get the 30 inch display, it amazes how HUGE this display is. When I was at the Apple Store, I tried out Final Cut Pro with a 30 inch monitor and my jaw dropped.

    You can get a refurb 30 inch cinema display for 1799, an amazing deal.

    Or, even consider getting 2-23 inch displays for the price of one 30 inch display.
     
  22. mward333 macrumors 6502a

    mward333

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    #22
    Um.....

    Um..... hmm..... I'm not sure about that!
     
  23. Cocobolo macrumors member

    Cocobolo

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    #23
    I'd recommend against getting a refurbished 30" ACD. I bought one and had several concerns. First, it had noticeable "dancing pixels" which was very annoying. After looking at some of the apple forums, it seems to be a common issue with the first generation monitors. Second, it was not nearly as bright as the new 30" displays (which is what I have now). It was also almost 2 years old when I got it, which made me wonder if it hadn't been a Apple Store model that got switched out with the newer, brighter 30" displays.

    Normally I have no problem with Apple refurbs, but the 30" display would be an exception. For $200, go new.
     

Share This Page