Apple call centers

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by macrlz9, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. macrlz9 macrumors 6502

    macrlz9

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    #1
    I currently work for Bank of America in a call center here. I have had a few call center jobs. I always wondered if Apple call centers use macs? I know i've used peoplesoft, AS-400, unix (not the os), and lotus notes and other software while working in a call center. I wonder if apple reps really use macs for everything in their call centers. If so that would be sweet to see a call center full of macs instead of dells (what i use). I'm sure the technical support centers use em but what about the ordering line? the above mentioned software is pretty much a standard but they aren't available for macs. hmm... just pondering....
     
  2. JMT529 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    #2
    I'd assume they do. Apple probably has written their own software for their need as well, just like the Apple Store terminals.
     
  3. osprey76 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    #3
    I'd tend to agree. Remember Dell's online store once ran on NeXT hardware and software and those guys are at Apple now.
     
  4. loverofmacs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    #4
    Well as being previously employed by an Apple Call Centre, we all used macs and a software the was in fact created by Apple called iLog :)
     
  5. scienide09 macrumors 65816

    scienide09

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    It would make perfect sense. Why not use their own hardware, which they could then write-off as a business expense. Much better than supporting the competition by purchasing Dells or other systems.
     
  6. MasterNile macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #6
    Anyone know how many/where are Apple call centers? I work at a small answering service and working at an Apple call center would be a vast improvement, we're using an outdated version of StarTel and computers running Windows 2000 and that's after upgrading from 98 about 2 years ago.
     
  7. jbrenn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #7
    call center in india
    i called got a person named "bob". i asked if it was spelled with 1 or two o's and he said 2. I hung up and called back trying to get someone that actually speaks english that i could understand. The call center employees in india are told to give american names. On the second call I got someone that spoke very good english so it had to be somewhere in the us. the time of the phone call was 11 am cst.
     
  8. jaw04005 macrumors 601

    jaw04005

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    AR
    #8
    Apple has many call centers that are specific to certain products. Their main call center is in Austin, Texas. However, I've personally spoken with AppleCare agents in both California (not Cupertino) and New England (don't remember where) in the past.

    iMac after-hours support usually comes from India. :( For whatever reason, I've never gotten out-sourced support when calling about iPhone or portables (MacBook and MacBook Pro).

    In late 2003/early 2004, the AppleCare Rep. that I was speaking to about my PowerBook G4 said they still used Blue and White PowerMac G3's. He was griping about how slow his computer was. He also mentioned that they were hoping to get upgraded soon.
     
  9. Salmar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    I've only been a Mac user for a short while but for the few times that I had called tech support I've gotten people in Canada. I always ask "where are you at?" Canadian English is as close to U.S. english as you can get and at least I can understand them and they can understand me and they were very helpful and patient.
    I just can't deal with the "sing song" Indian english when I call Sprint customer service though.
     
  10. jodelli Contributor

    jodelli

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Location:
    Windsor, ON, Canada
    #11
    I worked at a call center for HP Notebooks and all of the equipment was HP, albeit not notebooks. We were given a look at some of the current offerings and had access to all of the service documentation but worked off of thin clients for the most part.

    I would assume Apple would do the same, brand wise.
     
  11. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #12
    I was on the phone with AppleCare for 2 1/2 hours and it sounded like his kids were playing in the background. When he called back to my house, (my phone battery was low and beeping every 3-4 seconds) my caller ID showed "Apple Computer (512) XXX-XXXX, and I did a reverse phone number search and it came from Austin, Texas USA. But I swear it was some guy working out of his house or that call center has FREE DAYCARE...:p
     
  12. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #13
    Call center employes working from home is becoming more common my friend does it, he has to be on the phone for a minimum of 20 hours in a week but can do any hours over that up to 48 hours in one week.
    All he does is log into a web service and the company has provided him a telephone this i hear is becoming more desirable to the companies and employees as there is no large buildings to support and no sick days as the employee is at home anyway and if he/she is having a sick day they just don't log into the system until they are feeling better.
     
  13. MasterNile macrumors 65816

    MasterNile

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    #14
    Are these usually nation wide? does anyone know of any good ones in the US?
     
  14. reign.call macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    #15
    The state of the economy may finally be affecting Apple, but not in the way you'd think. Apple is apparently scrapping its plans to open, Apple was setting up an additional call center, to be staffed by Apple employees. ..... I have had a few call center jobs. I always wondered if Apple call
     
  15. WizardHunt macrumors 68000

    WizardHunt

    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada USA
    #16
    You know it would make only perfect sense if they did use Apple hardware if they expect to troubleshoot your problem. They could look into manuals but if they could go through the steps on a same kind machine would be a better idea. Thats my opinion.
     
  16. macgrl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #17
    I got put through to the call center in Austin, Texas when I called Apple from the UK. Good job too as they were much more helpful than the call center I got from the UK:)
     
  17. emailboy macrumors newbie

    emailboy

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    #18
    Generally outstanding, but now India?

    In the past, my experiences with Apple call centers have generally been very good. I've spoken to Apple people in Canada, Texas, and New England, and always had friendly people who genuinely tried to help, and were always willing to do a little something extra, such as put me on hold while they called the dispatch center to see what happened to my stuff, or calling me back with a follow up.

    Today when I called to find out what's going on with my iPod Touch warranty repair (on-line status says "diagnosis" for six days), the IVR takes and confirms the case ID, but then the call is answered in India, and the rep there is typical of Indian call centers: extremely polite, but nothing is transferred over (no case ID), has no information about anything, and no ability to do anything.

    I've always felt that Apple's customer service was one of the top reasons people buy their products, and my experiences with their call centers have backed this up. Why would Apple jeopardize this by using call centers that don't know what's going on, can't help, and give customers a bad impression?

    (Just as an aside, I work with many extremely talented engineers who are from India, but my experiences with companies who have call centers in India and the Philippines has been very consistent and very bad. My guess is that this is probably because the centers aren't integrated into the company's main systems, and also such centers don't attract the best employees.)
     

Share This Page