Apple care makes me laugh.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Flyinace2000, Oct 25, 2006.

  1. Flyinace2000 macrumors 6502a

    Flyinace2000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    #1
    So ever since i got my screen replaced the senor in the lid has been misaligned which causes my laptop to intermittently no sleep when closed. Its been to apple care twice. This week is #3. I told them on the phone that if it happens again I will no longer entertain repairs and will want to discuss replacement. So i mailed it in on monday and it came back today (3 days door to door is mighty impressive). They alligned and replaced the same part they did the first two times. But they also took out my ram. The machine came with 512 and i add 1gb of kingston ValueRam. Keep in mind I added it about a month after i got the machine (1.5 years ago). So I called up to ask why my ram was removed. They said after replacing/alligning the part the problem remain. By removing the RAM the problem did not resurace. I laughed. There is no way in hell that this was a RAM problem.


    Either way, next time i notice it not going to sleep when th elid closes i am calling them up and its time for anwe PowerBook ro MacBook Pro, whatever they want to give me.
     
  2. Maccus Aurelius macrumors 6502a

    Maccus Aurelius

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #2

    I doubt theyd give you a powerbook, since i doubt very much that there is actually a brand new, untouched example anywhere on earth at this point. You should consider yourself lucky that apple bothered to repair your computer at all with third party RAM installed. Generally, apple is finicky about the RAM you put in. If it's RAM provided by them, then it's no big deal, but if you buy RAM from say kingston or crucial, they may refuse to repair it. That's why the best thing to do is hold on to your stock RAM and swap it whenever you have to send your computer in for repairs.
     
  3. xli_ne macrumors 6502a

    xli_ne

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Center of the Nation
    #3
    so they kept your memory? or did they send that back too?
     
  4. Flyinace2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Flyinace2000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    #4
    I am not home from work yet so i am not sure. But the Apple Care rep said it "should" be in the box. If its not in the box they owe me $100 or a 1gb Stick of ram
     
  5. Flyinace2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Flyinace2000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    #5
    Ram was in the box. I tested out opening and closing the lid. Seems to work. i also re-installed my ram and am running Apple Hardware Test to see if the RAM does fail.
     
  6. Flyinace2000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Flyinace2000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    #6
    Any one notice that the 15" PB is back and available from the refurb store?
     

Share This Page