Apple Care Question

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by nmals23, Mar 14, 2007.

1. nmals23 macrumors newbie

I just got my new BlackBook, and I'm super pumped. One question (and brace yourselves, 'cause it's a dumb one)....was I supposed to get install discs for Apple Care? I ordered it, but when I set up the MacBook, I didn't see anything referencing it.

Was I supposed to get something? Am I supposed to register or something (I did the usual registration upon startup -- I used my apple ID that I use for iTunes).

By the way, I'm new to the Mac world -- long time PC user (like that wasn't obvious).

Thanks for the help!!

-nm

2. Makosuke macrumors 603

I'll give you the long answer:

AppleCare is essentially just a serial number that you plug into an online (or mail if you really want) registration system that extends the hardware and software warranty of the computer whose serial number you associate it with. The physical package also includes a disk with a basic troubleshooting utility on it--you can use it to do a hardware scan and check for directory damage on the hard drive. That software can be downloaded from Apple's site, however, using the computer's serial number.

It is possible to order a computer "pre registered" with AppleCare, at least if you're an institution, but generally if you're buying for the home you will get a separate little red and white box in the mail (usually before the computer if you order them together, but it could be after--check your shipping status and see if there's more than one box on the way). The box will contain the AppleCare serial number that you "link" to a computer through the registration system, and that CD.