apple computers and their cost...

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by atacinus, Apr 10, 2004.

1. atacinus macrumors 6502

i just read some old archived post about why macs should cost more than PCs...it was a lot of the standard BS i read all the time - Macs are more fully loaded when it comes to software - you get what you pay for - design - the OS is better.......all that stuff has nothing to do with the price i don't think. i sell PCs for a living :-( ... do you have any idea how much money we, let alone the manufactuer, make off a standard PC sale [tower, monitor, printer]....about 12 dollars. That didn't use to be the case, we used to sell the computers at around 1,000 bucks and make a nice markup. Anyone wonder why cables cost 40 bucks? Apple on the other hand, makes computers, and for the most part does not have retail options outside of itself, thus it makes sense that in order to stay in business there would be a bigger markup. I just think this makes more sense to tell a potential switcher than to be a 'snob' and say something to the extent of 'well if you pay less and get that eCrap, you're a loser with crapy software and i pity you'. eghh...my two cents.

2. Grimace macrumors 68040

Grimace

depends on the PC manufacturer. Some are pretty good, and have good hardware. I have a personal issue with Dell, which just puts together the cheapest components they can find in a huge casing.

Again, it all depends on what the consumer wants to do with the computer.

3. rdowns Suspended

rdowns

So the OS, bundled software and better design have nothing to do with cost. Might be one of the most uninformed statements ever made here.

4. Krizoitz macrumors 6502a

Krizoitz

Yeah that R&D cost has to come from somewhere...

5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus