Apple Debuts Apple Remote Desktop

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Quark, Mar 14, 2002.

  1. Quark macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    #1
  2. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #2
    Whoah! That sounds sweet!

    Too bad it's $US299.

    I guess we've been spoilt with a whole range of free Apple software...
     
  3. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #3
    About bleedin time they came out with an OS X version of ANAT... I use that every day to remote control/assist client computers and would love to have the ability to do so under OS X. I just hope that the company that I work for goes ahead and picks up enough copies for us to use. Especially since, with that, we can then go to OS X while the clients stay in the 9.x's.
     
  4. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #4
    well that article looked a little shady so i checked out the apple store and sure enough there it is:

    http://www.apple.com/remotedesktop/

    doesnt seem to be for sale for education though. :(

    this is definitely a step in the right direction for apple. imagine you have a dual ghz machine in your office at work. with a high speed connection at home you could have all that power on your little ibook at home.

    now if apple had a pda with this remote software and could tap into a wireless broadband connection you would have your dual ghz in the palm of your hand wherever you went!
     
  5. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #5
    sounds a lot like Timbuktu.....

    I think I'd rather have Apple's utility though....more because of the fact it's native....
     
  6. mischief macrumors 68030

    mischief

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Ca
    #6
    OOOooh!!!

    So what if you use this with one of those clustering programs?:eek: You could set up HUGE ARRAYS and RAID via TCP/IP!:eek: :D :cool:
     
  7. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #7
    Timbuktu is huge compared to ANAT (one extension and one preference file on the client side is all that is needed for full functionality).

    I would love to know what their new utility is like, on the client side since it doesn't matter too much what it is like on the admin side (mine :D).

    It is nice when you have several floors to cover, in two buildings, and they are not all walk-across. We have that situation in the Boston site (glad I am not there).
     
  8. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
    #8
    Timbuktu

    well then maybe u can teach me how to use it! :p

    esp when firewalls are involved...
     

Share This Page