apple display question...

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by masterjedi73, Jan 22, 2004.

  1. masterjedi73 macrumors 6502

    masterjedi73

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    #1
    will the apple displays work on windows machines?
     
  2. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
  3. jkeithh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    #3
    Re: apple display question...

    My local CompUSA had a Sony Vaio laptop hooked up to a 23" Cinema Display the other day, so it is possible.
     
  4. jrv3034 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    #4
    It will with a DVI-ADC adapter. However, you might have some trouble with the widescreen nature of the desktop and getting the proper resolution. I've never done this myself, but the ones I've seen at CompUSA hooked up to PCs have always looked stretched out to fill the entire screen's width.

    Does anyone know if you can get the 1900x1200 resolution of a 23" Cinema Display going right on Windows?
     
  5. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #5
    i think it depends on the videocard on the PC... if it can put out 1900x1200 as one of the options, i'm sure it will fit fine...
     
  6. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #6
    yeah its just the video card, so as long as ur video card can support that res it should display it on ur apple display
     

Share This Page