Apple Display vs. Dell - so, why the price difference?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Shacklebolt, May 14, 2005.

1. Shacklebolt macrumors 6502a

Shacklebolt

So, I'm biting the bullet, selling my awesome 15" Apple Studio Dislay LCD (ADC, not that other kind), and I was doing it so I could buy myself a 20" Apple Cinema display. But I'm having second thoughts on the Cinema display after checking out the Dell 2005FPW or whatever it is. The price difference is rather monstorous (I'm a student, so the apple display would cost 699 as opposed to 524 for the Dell), so can anyone speculate as to why? I like the design of the Apple monitor more, and sure, it's more elegant, but 175 bucks? That's a lot of dough. Aside from that, doesn't anyone know where I can get the dell display cheaper than 524?

2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89

I'm going to look at this from Dell's perspective instead of from Apple's perspective.

The reason Dell is able to get away with charging $524 for their monitor is that they sell in such high volumes (especially to businesses) that they can afford to run periodic specials and take a hit on their profits to promote additional sales. Apple simply lacks the sales volume to use this approach.

3. sbb155 macrumors 6502

It is actually basic

If you read some annual reports or financial statements, it sometimes is very interesting!

Apple's gross margins are a lot higher than dell.
    In other words, apple wants to make more profit from the monitor than dell.
    Greedy? Maybe, or maybe they are just looking out for their shareholders.

The price difference is mostly because Apple wants to make a higher profit per monitor than dell wants to.
    Dell has razor thin margins, while apple's are very high.