Apple DVI to ADC Display Adapter

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by alnoor, Oct 17, 2005.

  1. alnoor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    #1
    Just brought a barnd new Apple DVI to ADC Display Adapter

    As i read on this forum that i can connect any computer with DVI out port to my apple 17" Display display.

    Even PC

    So tried and didn't work

    I can see the windows but it was flikering,streching,epanding and contracting.
    annoying animation.

    Does any one has any idea how can i make this work
    or i should just return it.

    Thanks
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    What graphic card does the computer have? I'd guess that most, if not all, cards with DVI should do at least the 1280x1024 required for the 17 inch display but you never know.

    Do you have another computer you can try? Even if it is not a Mac?

    Did you call Apple? Or bring it to the Apple store?
     
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    If it is the 17" ADC Studio Display with the CRT, you can't.

    Those adapters will not work for the ADC CRT.
     
  4. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
  5. alnoor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    #5
    Thank
    Guys
    I have Flat panel 17" Apple Display.
    And I am trying to connect my Sony Vio PC
    it has got 4X AGP 3D Graphics Hardware Acceleration
    (NVIDIA® GeForce2 MX™)

    So do i need to chage the Graphics Card on my PC

    Thanks
     
  6. IJ Reilly macrumors P6

    IJ Reilly

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    Palookaville
    #6
    The adaptor does work with the Apple 17" ADC LCD. I routinely switch mine back and forth between my Cube and PC (with a Radeon 9800). Works perfectly. The GeForce2 MX should be sufficient. Are you sure it's all hooked up properly? Power brick fired up and connected?
     
  7. alnoor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    #7
    Yes
    I spent lot of time on it yesturday
    I restarted my computer about ten time
    i can see window loading and the desktop but its flikering, streching up and down
    i uninstall the display driver and set it to plug and play.
    i was able to chage the resolution to different setting but no change

    So what should be my next step

    Thanks
     
  8. chaos86 macrumors 65816

    chaos86

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    buy a mac?

    sorry i couldn't help myself. have you tried hooking it up to a dvi mac? if it still doesn't work then that narrows it down to the adapter or the display, ruling out the computer.
     
  9. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #9
    Tell Windows what monitor you have.

    BEFORE plugging it into the PC, go into the Display Properties control panel; go to the 'Settings' tab, click 'Advanced'. Go to the 'Monitor' tab, and change the driver. Tell it you have a 'Standard Display Type' of 'Digital Flat Panel (1280x1024)'.

    What's probably going on is that the PC isn't quite sure what the monitor is, and is trying to send a signal that is too fast. (To high a refresh rate; Apple's displays should be set to 60Hz.)
     

Share This Page