Apple Expanding North Carolina Data Center Once Again

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Feb 20, 2014.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Apple is expanding its Maiden, North Carolina data center again according to permits filed with Catawba County, reports The Hickory Daily Record. The plans say the additional data center building will cover 14,246 square feet with walls 25 feet tall, made of precast concrete wall panels along steel columns, similar to the "tactical" data center that was added in 2012.

    [​IMG]
    Photo of the facility from 2012, courtesy WIRED
    Apple's facility in Maiden is enormous, with a 100-acre solar farm and a 500,000 square foot data center, with plans in place for a second. Apple also has data centers built or under construction in Prineville, Oregon and Reno, Nevada.

    Article Link: Apple Expanding North Carolina Data Center Once Again
     
  2. Guest

    keterboy

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Location:
    Earth's Core
  3. macrumors 65816

    musika

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Location:
    New York
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Location:
    Brussels
    #5
    it's a pretty small addition compared to the main one... wonder what's the goal behind it...
     
  6. jimthing, Feb 20, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2014

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    As said before "iTV" is a brand that will never happen for Apple. Just the same as MS had to change from using "SkyDrive" to "OneDrive" recently because the brand name Sky is owned by the Murdoch corp British Sky Broadcasting (they use the "Sky" brand) in the UK and beyond, and offer internet services, hence the conflict. The same is true for the UK's Independent Television (they use the "iTV" brand) – guess what industry they're already in...
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
  8. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #8


    You need a cdn for that
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    FakeWozniak

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    #9
    A guy in another thread about the Campus 2 pointed out how these overhead shots look a lot like silicon chip photos. Now I can't stop looking for the FPU and L1 cache! :)
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #10
    ... Unannounced names aside...



    CDN?
     
  11. macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #11
    All that iWatch data won't sync itself.

    Content delivery network. Like Akamai.
     
  12. macrumors 68030

    TallManNY

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #12
    Security

    Another man-trap door for a facility this large. I wonder why they believe this much security is required. Two layers of doors makes sense. But to physically/electronically link them so that they can't both be open at once seems like an unnecessary amount of security to become basically standard.

    I'd like to see Apple get a little better with digital sharing. But iTunes has been streaming pretty good for me over the last couple of years. I'm definitely ready to buy another Apple TV though and get even better performance. I could retire one of my version 2s. And if the device is good enough and still $100, I might retire two of them.
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #13
    If I'm understanding correctly, it would prevent the scenario of creating a distraction at one door while entering the other.

    Can you imagine the fallout if apples entire cloud was compromised. Personal info, software updates, apps, even lack of availability. The more connected everything gets, the more painful a loss of those connections. A single breech would hit the stock value with losses greater than the value of the entire facility.
     
  14. macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #14
    I wonder what speed the Internet connection is there and how they connect. Also what the storage capacity is. Minus redundancy and backups.
     
  15. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    #15
    maybe

    I agree that UK's ITV has a strong lock on that name but there is always the possibility that Apple will license it. That's what it did with Cisco for the "iOS" name - just paid money and licensed it.

    I'm not sure that Apple will do it but it is possible.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    #16
    I see, so what enables them to host/stream videos on an Apple TV now, but would prevent them from doing this on a larger scale with owner generated content?
     
  17. macrumors regular

    CausticSoda

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Location:
    Abu Dhabi
    #17
    If I were ITV, I would sell the name to Apple for Gigabucks, and just choose another name. ITV is so well established in the UK, it could rebrand itself with any other name, and it would make no difference. Some people already call it Channel 3, the reasons for which will be obvious to people in the UK.
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    TallManNY

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    #18
    Stock price hit makes sense. Certainly the loss in stock price would be less than the cost of this door (and the continued inconvenience of using it (if it does what it is supposed to do, it should have nearly zero ability to circumvent, meaning it will be a total pain on a daily basis just to get stuff in and out of the building)).

    I'm thinking Apple's got something in the works. These data centers seem bigger than what is necessary to stream iTunes to current Apple TVs.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #19
    Their network expansions must be for mobile payments and imminent TV service.
     

Share This Page