Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

digital1

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 2, 2002
Wisconsin
A few former Apple employees have founded a company that makes "Ultra Compters". It takes the advantages of PDAs, laptops, and desktop PCs. It uses a 1 Ghz Transmeta chip. I have seen concepts like this but no one has ever moved forward with them. Maybe this is something we could see in the future with Apple? Maybe these guys wanted to do something different and wanted to compete with Apple. Who knows, but it is a very nifty device, and being a computer engineering student I can appreciate the work,and insight that went into this device.

Here, check the guys out!

http://www.oqo.com/http://www.oqo.com/ :) :D

mmmdreg

macrumors 65816
Apr 14, 2002
Sydney, Australia
didn't apple say it definitely wasn't going into the PDA market for the time being? and that device won't have much of a market...people seem to stick with traditional laptops and PDA's...no crosses

digital1

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 2, 2002
Wisconsin
nothing wrong with starting a little controversy though... ;) I personally think this reflects something that Apple is developing but is not releasing to the world, and these guys wanted to do it differently.

digital1

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 2, 2002
Wisconsin
I think that those devices could possibly have a market, it is just ahead of its time. It could possibly go somewhere. Personally, I would go with a Linux OS like Mandrake, or Red Hat.

Mr. Anderson

Moderator emeritus
Nov 1, 2001
VA
Originally posted by digital1
nothing wrong with starting a little controversy though... ;) I personally think this reflects something that Apple is developing but is not releasing to the world, and these guys wanted to do it differently.