Apple Hardware Test

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jlewis2k1, Nov 24, 2006.

  1. jlewis2k1 macrumors 6502a

    jlewis2k1

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    in your closet
    #1
    Ok so I'm trying to get my computer to boot into the hardware test but it keeps kicking into the installation mode. what am i doing wrong?

    I am holding "D" as the computer makes its lovely sound.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Hold it before that sound. What sort of keyboard do you have? :)
     
  3. jlewis2k1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jlewis2k1

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    in your closet
    #3
    i did that too. i have one of those nice shiny white keyboards made by apple :-D

    im so confused cause i did it before but now i can't
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    What happens if you start up while holding OPTION? Also, is this the disc that came with your mini? :)
     
  5. jlewis2k1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jlewis2k1

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    in your closet
    #5
    i get the nice little option to choose what i want to boot from. they are the discs i recieve with my little baby.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Okay, so it's not having a problem with recognising commands at boot up, but it just won't let you into AHT. To check if there's something wrong with the disc, try booting up whilst holding C to see if you get to the Installer. :)
     
  7. jlewis2k1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jlewis2k1

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    in your closet
    #7
    it goes to the installation screen. so i wonder if the AHT is broken on the disc itself? or maybe the firmware isn't responding to it.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    What other discs did you get with the mini? I know the AHT used to be on a separate disc, but I thought the Intel minis keep it on Disc One of the install set. :confused:
     
  9. jlewis2k1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jlewis2k1

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    in your closet
    #9
    yeah its all on one disc. i have disc 2 but it is for installation.
     
  10. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #10
    Does it say it has the actual Hardware Test on the disc? It should be written there. If it is written there, but it won't load, then ask Apple for a replacement. :)
     
  11. jlewis2k1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jlewis2k1

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    in your closet
    #11
    it does say that ... i tried something, you know how on the disc there is this firmware password thingy? well i went to it and changed something. Then i tried booting into AHT and it worked. if you wanna know what i changed i can pull out the disc and find out.

    thanks for your help mad_jew :-D! you are a rock star!
     
  12. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #12
    Haha, good work mate, nice work. :D

    So, did the tests come back fine?
     
  13. jlewis2k1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jlewis2k1

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Location:
    in your closet
    #13
    my mac is healthy as a horse? lol yeah everything came back normal.
     

Share This Page