Apple Logic Pro and VST

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by rickboy, Aug 10, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #1
    Does apple Logic Pro support the use of VST and DAW plug-ins? If not what does it support?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #2
    I'm not sure what you mean by "DAW" plugins, but Logic works fine with VSTs and AUs.

    JC
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    junior

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    #3
    Nope.
    Logic does not support VST. If someone really wants to use VST, they need to use a wrapper, such as the one made by FXpansion.
    Otherwise it's audio unit only.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #4
    Really?! Does that mean I was using Absynth 4 as an AU and not realising it?

    That's what I get for not paying attention :(

    JC
     
  5. macrumors 68000

    musio

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    #5
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    #6
    So can somebody give me the rundown of the different Logic (for mac) types of sound files available to us?

    .gig files
    .vst (must be for mac)

    anything else?
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    #7
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #8
    Sound File Formats are quite different than plug in type formats.
    Mac Logic supports AU only for plugins.
     

Share This Page