Apple logo takes long to show on boot up

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by BNHabs, Jun 21, 2012.

  1. BNHabs
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #1
    If someone can give me there advice/opinion I'd really appreciate it!

    I did a fix that essentially would allow me to connect to my monitor without the MacBook Air screen on.

    However, I decided to opt out, so I disabled it using the provided codes in terminal.

    For some reason, when I turn on my Macbook Air I notice that it takes about 20 second to show the Apple logo, but then it boots up very quickly.

    Could enabling/disabling this thing using terminal be the cause? If I reformat the computer, does that re-do everything back to stock as if I didn't apply or disable any tweaks?

    Here is the thing I did for anyone who is interested:
    http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20110901113922148
     
  2. Intell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Reset your PRAM (hold Command-Option-P-R at boot and hold until you hear two chimes) and then select the correct startup disk is the Startup Disk pref pane.
     
  3. BNHabs
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #3
    You sir are a genius!

    Thank you so much for your help! I REALLY appreciate it - you don't even understand!

    Someone takes 2 minutes out of there day and helps others - great community and forums on here!

    Question: why would an OS command do something that if you don't reset the PRAM is irreversible? Does reformatting your computer fix this as well etc?
     
  4. Intell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #4
    The nvram command sets variables in the PRAM. It is used by Mac OS X to set things like the startup disk. It can also be used to add other things as with your screen problem/fix. Reinstalling the OS would have likely not fixed that.
     

Share This Page