Apple Network Server 700/150

Discussion in 'Apple Collectors' started by Macs R Us, Mar 8, 2004.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    Here on My Mac(s) in my house in the USA!
    #1
    I just got a Apple Network Server 700/150 and need to run my site (the site's not big check my porfile to see the one I need to have it run)and run it and a home data server, But I have very little knolage about UNIX/AIX so I don't know where to begin. Think it has a Shell but I'v no clue how it all works I gusse it was dumb of me to waste money on it since I have no clue how it works. But if theres any help you can give please post or if you know os a Mac OS that could work.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #2
    You can got to apple-history.com its in their website. They did not make a lot of those, it could be a collectors item if you don't end up using it.
     
  3. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #3
    If Memory Serves... You need A/UX v.1.3, and then on top of that you will have System 7.5.1. You can upgrade to System 7.5.5. Of Course, I could be wrong. Best Idea is find an Apple Authorized Retailer who could connect you up with any necissarry Disks and Help.

    TEG
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    Here on My Mac(s) in my house in the USA!
    #4
    Well if it had that Mac OS that would be great I know that one well. I have the OS AIX 4.1.4. and the CD's it came with do you know where I can locate a Mac OS patch? I know for sure it will not run os x becuse of the prosseor and boards. I really wanted a good Apple Sever since All I have are the 9150, 6150. I was to cheap to buy new x sereve stuff :). The computer so big they had to add wheels to it I think it's around 90 lbs. Also will it take any hot swapable drive?
     
  5. macrumors regular

    mactarkus

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    No Mac OS on a Network Server

    I own a Network Server 500/132. I'm fairly certain it is not possible to install a Mac OS on it as it does not contain the Macintosh ROMs. You'll have to get a hold of Apple's UNIX variant or try your luck with Linux. Do a search and you'll see folks out there who have tried it.

    I got my Server about 6 months ago. It boots up fine, but I haven't gotten around to doing anything productive with it. It is mainly for display in my collection.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    Here on My Mac(s) in my house in the USA!
    #6
    I ordered a ANS 700/150. And I hope to get it all up and running. Theres not DAT drive :(...
     

Share This Page