Apple notebook could end up using AMD Turion

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by simie, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. simie macrumors 6502a

    simie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    Sitting
    #1

    Attached Files:

  2. MUCKYFINGERS macrumors 6502a

    MUCKYFINGERS

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #2
    I wouldn't mind seeing AMD inside a future Apple notebook of mine.
     
  3. LaMerVipere macrumors 6502a

    LaMerVipere

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    Oooh, red motherboard. :)

    I'd love an AMD-powered Mac.
     
  4. esaleris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    #4
    No way. In order to manage the correct level of expectations, I'm sure Apple went with some sort of volume agreement with Intel, which would drive an Intel iBook (or even exclusive use). Also, I don't know why they would bother with two different divisions for their lines - it's much easier to manage one vendor for such a criticle keystone of your product... and the choice would have been made before the switch, as part of a sort of bidding process.

    The only way they could switch is if they held much more market share; in that case the CPU manufacturers would be wanting a piece of that business, rather than the other way around.
     
  5. trogdor! macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #5
    It would definatly be interesting to see aple use AMD, but I doubt it will happen any time soon, because im sure theyve signed agreements with intel for quite a while. As with the tech industry though, things change all the time.
     
  6. maxterpiece macrumors 6502a

    maxterpiece

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    #6
    Apple aint' using no AMD, especially in a laptop, where intel chips are decidedly superior. I think you get some nice discounts from Intel if you use exclusively their chips.
     
  7. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #7
    What about Apple's DRM? How does the Turion enforces that?
     
  8. bah-bah'd macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    #8
    Oh, and nice Insert / Print Screen button next to the Num Lock on the keyboard in that pic...

    Superior at multi-tasking multi-threaded 32-bit applications... My cheap, cool, quiet yet quick Mobile Sempron notebook pops through everything I use while I'm mobile pretty well, and that is low, lowend...
     
  9. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #9
    Actually while I'm an AMD boi I think the core duo is no push over either...
     
  10. briangig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    #10
    this would never happen ever. all the marketing with apple and intel, it would cause so much confusion, and you know intel wouldnt be too pleased with it...
     
  11. MUCKYFINGERS macrumors 6502a

    MUCKYFINGERS

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Location:
    CA
    #11
    So I guess this guy is an early April Fool's joke after all:rolleyes:
     
  12. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #12
    Is it just me, or does that not look very much like an apple battery? Sure, it's rectangular and has a few round shapes on it, but that could be anything...
     
  13. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    fyi allot of apple internal alfa hardware uses red pcb...

    but it's obviously a fake, apple would be retarded to use a turion.
     
  14. topgunn macrumors 65816

    topgunn

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Location:
    Texas
    #14
    So Apple would then be using Intel chips in thier desktops and AMD chips in their laptops? Now that is completely bass ackwards.
     
  15. treblah macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #15
    That's definitely a 15in PowerBook battery… Wouldn't they have used the newer MacBook design?
     

Share This Page