apple pro speakers + G5

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by rock6079, Oct 22, 2005.

  1. rock6079 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #1
    hey i just got my new2.3ghz dual-core G5 last night. this is replacing my iMac G4.

    i have a pair of apple pro speakers that worked with the G4 but there is no such speaker output on the G5s. the apple pro speakers use a really small head and do not fit into a standard 1/8inch lineout or headphones out.

    is there any way to connect them ? any suggestions.

    it doesnt make sense to me that i would no longer be able to use them, and the apple store and apple support were of no help.

    thanks
     
  2. iEric macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #2
    thers an adapter that u can buy at like radio shack. they'll know what ur talking about if u ask them and act all confused.:confused:
     
  3. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #3
    The Apple Pro speakers require an amplifier. It'll be better for you to just get a new pair of speakers and give the Pro speakers to whomever got the iMac.
     
  4. rock6079 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #4
    now im confused too.

    can i just get an adapter (and if i can do you know more specifically what kind)

    or do they need an amplifier that is not in the G5 and thus i cannot use them ?
     
  5. Bear macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Sol III - Terra
    #5
    The Apple Pro speakers require an amplifier. The systems that had a space to plug them in, have a small amplifier in them.

    A simple cable adapter will not work.
     
  6. taekat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    #6
    Griffin Technology

    A little late .. but it might help ... check out Girffin Technology. The device is called iFire. I believe it will allow you to use Apple Pro Speakers on any firewire mac

    Aaron
     

Share This Page