Apple Protection Care.. worth it? what does it do?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by maxy123, Aug 3, 2012.

1. macrumors newbie

Jul 29, 2012
    Hi guys, as many might seen me posting my questions for my new 13" MBA 2012. I haven't purchased any Apple protection care. Do I need it? Today there is an offer to purchase the protection care.

What does the protection care does? what kind of repairs they offer? Can anyone tell me the examples? Since I'm new to Mac, I want to know before I purchase this one.

Note: Usually I'm maintain my electronics very well, so would I need this one?

2. macrumors Westmere

May 16, 2008
    AppleCare Protection Plan for Mac or Apple Display

• You can buy AppleCare any time during the first year warranty period, so you don't have to buy it at time of purchase.
    • You can check your remaining warranty and/or AppleCare coverage here
    • AppleCare will extend the 1 year warranty for an additional 2 years, for a total of 3 years coverage from the date of your Mac purchase.
      It also extends telephone support from 90 days, which is included with your original warranty, to a total of 3 years.
    • You cannot buy AppleCare again or renew it once it expires.
    • Neither the Apple Warranty nor AppleCare will cover damage from accidents, spills, etc. They only cover manufacturing defects.
    • AppleCare+ provides some coverage for accidental damage, but is only available for the iPad and iPhone, not for Apple computers.
    • Neither the Apple Warranty nor AppleCare will cover batteries that have worn out. They only cover defective batteries.
    • For more detailed questions, read the AppleCare Protection Plan (pdf) agreement.