Apple Releases iPhone Configuration Utility 3.3

Discussion in 'iOS Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    Hot on the heels of the release of iOS 4.3, Apple has also pushed out iPhone Configuration Utility 3.3 for Mac OS X and Windows. The utility helps system administrators to deploy iOS devices in enterprise settings.
    The update presumably makes changes and additions to support devices running iOS 4.3.

    The Mac version weighs in at 11.46 MB and requires Mac OS X 10.6, while the Windows version weighs in at 36.43 MB and requires Windows 7, Vista SP1, or XP SP3, along with .NET 3.5 SP1.

    Article Link: Apple Releases iPhone Configuration Utility 3.3
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    PoitNarf

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    #2
    Looks like you still can't add proxy servers to the WiFi configuration section. Still don't know why Apple doesn't have this in there.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    iDisk

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Location:
    Menlo Park, CA
  4. macrumors 65816

    PoitNarf

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Location:
    Northern NJ
    #4
    Because to a majority of the iOS users, this is not important. This is mostly of interest to those that need to configure iOS devices in enterprise environments.
     
  5. macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #5
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    OMG, the iOS device in the icon lacks a home button! It's the iPhone 5!

    Well, at least it's interesting apple has drawings of iOS devices without home buttons.
     
  6. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    These types of thing from Apple never had a home button.
     
  7. macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    All that means is that it's been in the pipeline for awhile now.
     
  8. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #8
    I hardly think Apple has been thinking about it since March of 2008.
     
  9. macrumors 604

    ArtOfWarfare

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148a Safari/6533.18.5)

    I'd wager it's been in the pipeline since a year before the iPhone was released, when apple was deciding what iPhone 1 would look like. They probably considered going buttonfree entirely before deciding the home button was necessary for the time being while people are still transitioning to a multitouch interface.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    v66jack

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I'm sure your right. A buttonless device will have always been on Apples cards. But I doubt they will loose the one reference point that everyone is comfortable with.

    Then again they have wiped the scroll wheel from iPod nano, so maybe a buttonless iPhone will arrive soon.
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    #11
    You can remove java update 5 as you already have update 19. Add in Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware to supplement your Avira AV. Also add CCleaner or Glary Utilities to clean your registry, history and temporary internet files.

    If you are not into programming then you can remove Visual c++
     
  12. macrumors member

    systole

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesnowta
    #12
    Just a random question

    Does the utility work with ipads as well? I mean is there one enterprise utility that configures both devices?
     

Share This Page