Apple REMOTE app does control AppleTV (Music Only)

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by mooty, Jul 10, 2008.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #1
  2. macrumors 68040

    Phil A.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Telford, UK
    #2
    It controls TV shows and Movies on my Mac, so I can't see any reason why it won't do the same on Apple TV. I'm just downloading the ATV update at the moment, so I'll know shortly ;)
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    GREAT!! That will be awesome if its a "catch all"...
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    Phil A.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Telford, UK
    #4
    Woo Hoo!
    It does control Movies and TV shows as well as music (just select the more icon from the toolbar on the iPhone) :D
    The only thing it doesn't control is photos and ATV settings from what I can see
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    #5
    How do you know? Using the 2.0 dev beta?
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Phil A.

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Telford, UK
    #6
    I'm not allowed to say ;)
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    JonHimself

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #7
    This is exciting, I can't wait to get 2.0 and the app to try it out.

    Can you post pics of what the app looks like when controlling movies and/or music or are you not allowed to do that either?

    I have to assume its better than using Telekinesis to control my iTunes.. which uses AirTunes to play through my apple tv... haha
     
  8. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #8
    Any chance of using the iPhone keyboard to input text in search fields?
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    JonHimself

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #9
    That would be incredible.. especially for YouTube... or maybe even to use a web-browser (if they ever add that, officially...)
     
  10. macrumors regular

    flyingscott

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #10
    or if you use the ATVFlash... they have a web browser which is next to useless without a keyboard... I could really impress my friends if my iPhone could control my ATV!

    :D
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #11
    Gah. I wish I wasn't at work so I could play with this stuff.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Lexoticstylez02

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #12
    You're not alone :(
     
  13. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #13
    Does it use 802.11 or bluetooth? I'm curious to know if the ATV/BT rumors are true...
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #14
    According to the documentation, you have to be on the same network, so I'm thinking that means 802.11
     
  15. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #15
    Sounds right to me. I think that pretty much settles it: the ATV does not have a BT module.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #16
    ... "Remote works with your Wi-Fi network, so you can control playback from anywhere in and around your home"..... taken out of the App Store

    btw: Patchstick Take2 works with 2.1
     
  17. macrumors demi-god

    GeekLawyer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    The post is coming from inside the house!
    #17
    It works over wi-fi, not bluetooth.

    Controls any media on the ATV (music, video, podcasts).

    Search uses the iPhone keyboard to search the ATV. (for content on the ATV)

    I can't see any way to search/access YouTube.

    Remote.ipa is amazing. :)
     
  18. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    #18
    What shows up on the Iphone screen when you are searching? Album art, etc.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #19
    Neither does the iPod Touch, which can also run the remote app.
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    JonHimself

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #20
    Yeah can anyone post pics of what is displayed on the iPhone while searching, playing, etc (all of the different things you can do)?
     
  21. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
  22. macrumors 65816

    bbotte

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #22
    My remote on my iPhone does not let me control rented HD movies. :mad:
     
  23. macrumors demi-god

    GeekLawyer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    The post is coming from inside the house!
    #23
    From another site:

    [​IMG]
     
  24. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #24
    I assume that it should work over ethernet also (via wifi access point)....
     
  25. macrumors demi-god

    GeekLawyer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    The post is coming from inside the house!
    #25
    I understand that it's using a bonjour framework -- so as long as the iPhone/Touch is on the same network (wired/wireless/what-have-you) as iTunes/ATV, it will work just fine. It's an awful lot like AirTunes, actually.
     

Share This Page