Apple Remote Desktop

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by wakerider017, Mar 15, 2007.

  1. wakerider017 macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #1
    I bought ARD 3.1 for myself but I am not quite sure how to use it...

    How do I manage machines running windows XP from my iMac?
     
  2. Teh Don Ditty macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
  3. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
  4. Teh Don Ditty macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #4
    Yea, I clearly missed that one. Did you read the instruction manual (if applicable)
     
  5. seanf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    You could use Microsoft's free Remote Desktop Connection Client for Mac - though as you've already purchased ARD this post is probably too late.

    Sean :)
     
  6. wakerider017 thread starter macrumors 68000

    wakerider017

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Location:
    US of A
    #6
    Did a quick "Apple-F" and searched for Windows and Microsoft in the Manual...

    Came back with nothing that applied.

    Looks like nice software... Now if I could figure out how to use it haha...
     
  7. Teh Don Ditty macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #7
    You have to install a VNC on your Windows computer. Or do what seanf said.

    EDIT: Link action The first on under multiple platform appeared to be free. Always a benefit

    EDITx2: It's not free.
     

    Attached Files:

    • vnc.jpg
      vnc.jpg
      File size:
      62.9 KB
      Views:
      40
  8. seanf macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    That picture mentions Virtual Network Computing, which is not the same as the built in Remote Desktop functionality in Windows. Sounds like you may need to install a VNC server on your Windows machines.

    [EDIT] Too slow![/EDIT]

    Sean :)
     
  9. cwedl macrumors 65816

    cwedl

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    #9
    You can use vnc and I do use it, BUT!!! You do not need a VNC server on the mac, go into system preferences>sharing>service and enable Apple Remote Desktop. next download Ultra VNC for windows xp. and type in your macs ip address, or the external one (just make sure if your mac is on a different network you set up port forwarding rules on the router).
     
  10. Teh Don Ditty macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #10
    I think the OP knows that. My post clearly says VNC for Windows. He already has a ARD so he wouldn't need a VNC.
     
  11. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #11
    I use VNC server installed on my Windows machines. It serves a Java applet on a port that I can access from my Mac's. Quick, easy and no extra software required on the Mac side.
     
  12. powderblue17 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    #12
    Are you sure Apple Remote Desktop is what your looking for? It's not the same as Microsoft's Remote Desktop as ARD is really only for system administrators. It's more like Microsoft's SMS. If all you need to do is connect remotely to an xp machine then on xp pro just enable remote connections and download the free Remote Desktop Connection utility from Microsoft. If you have xp home then you can download a free vnc utility and that will do the same.
     

Share This Page