Apple Remote Help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Aperture, Jun 7, 2006.

  1. Aperture macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #1
    Hello. I just received my mac mini today in the mail and I am having trouble with the Apple Remote. I pulled it out of the package and got it all setup. When I click the Menu button nothing happens. Do I have to configure it or something with OS X before I use it? I checked the battery and it is working. Please reply asap as I am frustrated. :(

    Thanks, Kevin
     
  2. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #2
    Pairing your remote with your iMac

    Invade your iMac's personal space by getting up close to it (about 3 or 4 inches away).
    Point the remote at the Apple logo on the front of your iMac.
    Press and hold the Menu and Next/Fast-forward buttons simultaneously on the remote for 5 seconds.

    this is for the iMac but i would say its almost the same for mac mini
     
  3. Aperture thread starter macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #3
    Reply

    I tried it and I am not sure if I am doing it right. I already tried this because it said so in the manual and it didn't help. Am I suppost to press and HOLD the 2 keys? I already tried it multiple times but thought I would just ask. Will the icon appear very large on the screen when it works?

    Kevin

    EDIT: I checked system prefs. and "UnPair" is NOT bolded. Therefore I never paired it? Please help me out.
     
  4. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #4
    just hold down menu and the fast forw button for about 6- 10 secs

    make sure your pointing it at the black bit next to the cd drive on the mini

    i can't remember if the remote came with a plastic pull thingy for the batt?

    if that does not work - you may have a duff remote or Ir senser
     
  5. Aperture thread starter macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #5
    Reply

    Yeah, no pull-tab thing. Still no luck. I may have to take in to the Apple Store.:(

    Kevin
     
  6. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #6
    have you taken the batt out of the remote? not put it in wrong way or anything >;)
     
  7. Aperture thread starter macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #7
    Reply

    Nope. I took it out and flipped it over just in case. No luck. The + on the battery is matching the Apple Remote + side.;)

    Kevin
     
  8. Aperture thread starter macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #8
    Reply

    Any other way I can check the IR Sensor?

    Kevin
     
  9. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
  10. Aperture thread starter macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #10
    Reply

    Nope. But wouldn't it still have to be paired with the computer? Either way I am calling Apple now but I am sure they are just going to tell me to try and pair it. So do you guys think it is the mini? Does that mean I will need a replacement or can it be serviced?

    Thanks, Kevin
     
  11. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #11
    they will try pairing it first and then some reboots of the mini and maybe repairing permissions
     
  12. Aperture thread starter macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #12
    Reply

    Well the first guy I talked to didn't seem too bright. :rolleyes: He explained to me about 5 times how to pair the remote as I told him I already tried and did it once again. Then I asked about repairing permisions and he told me that wouldn't do anything but I could try if I wanted. He also never told me to reboot. He told me to go buy a new battery and then call back if it didn't work. So I am about to run out to the drug store to get the right battery.

    Thanks For Your Help, Kevin
     
  13. arcsbite Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    #13
    point your apple remote directly into any video camera (web cam, DV camera) and hold down a button, you'll see if it's the remote or not

    If the remote is working fine, you should be able to see the infared light in the end of the remote flashing (when veiwed through the DV cam screen/web cams computer screen)

    if it's working fine, tell apple you checked it all out, then it has to be a hardware or software issue with the actual machine.
     
  14. Aperture thread starter macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #14
    Reply

    I tried it with a DV camera. I don't see any light. In a few minutes I am going to go get a new battery and then call Apple back if it doesn't work. I tried repairing permissions and it didn't help. I am beginning to think it is the remote itself or the battery. I don't want to have to wait for a new remote, does anyone know if I could get it replaced at the Apple Store??

    Thanks
     
  15. Aperture thread starter macrumors 68000

    Aperture

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Location:
    PA
    #15
    Reply

    Hello. I just got back from the store. I restarted my mac mini and put the new battery in. It worked.

    Thanks for the help

    Kevin
     

Share This Page