Apple remote menu button?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by GoCubsGo, Oct 7, 2006.

  1. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #1
    I do not have anything that uses the Apple remote except for my iPod dock. I can use every button as it seems that it should be used except for the menu button. Is this button pointless when using the remote to control your ipod?
     
  2. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #2
    The remote only allows you to fast forward, rewind, play/pause and raise/lower the volume. The Menu button doesn't work when used with the iPod dock.
     
  3. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #3
    For those who do have Front Row Macs, let me add a tip that I was late to discover:

    The Menu button normally operates Front Row menus--it's nothing to do with the Menu button on a DVD controller. So if you're watching a DVD outside of Front Row, and you hit Menu, it doesn't go to the DVD menu it launches front row. BUT you CAN use it like a DVD menu button: just HOLD the menu button a moment.
     
  4. GoCubsGo thread starter macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #4
    I am sure I am late to the game in saying that the very idea of an Apple remote and a dock that supports said remote is silly if the menu button doesn't bring one to a menu of the ipod UI. Interesting silly and dumb silly all in one. Obviously this isn't too much of a problem if one would just shuffle songs while in the car and such, but still silly if you ask me.

    I'm sure this was said before but I didn't have a macpro, mbp, mb, or anything that had front row so I'm bitching when it's most convenient to me. ;)

    Thank you all for letting me know...I'll stop pushing as hard as a I can on it now that I do know!
     
  5. leica0000 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #5
    I have to agree, I'd really prefer the menu button to work in Quicktime instead of pausing the movie and launching Front Row. That is quite stupid.
     

Share This Page