Apple Replacement CDs

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by Mr. Anderson, Feb 6, 2003.

  1. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    So I screwed up and somehow managed to crack my FinalCutPro3 CD and needed to reinstall it on my old machine that I've upgraded. So I called Apple about a replacement CD and even with all the documentation and Apple's own records showing I purchased the thing through them, they want me to shell out $80 for a replacement CD?!?!?!

    I don't know if I can push this through work and get them to pay for it, I might. But I was floored to hear from the Apple Rep what I'd have to pay.

    Anyone else ever had any experience with this?

    Really a pain in the ass if you ask me.

    D
     
  2. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    There are a bunch of pissed of editors that have FCP 1 or 2 and upgraded the rest of the way. Well, long of the short of it is current updates/upgrades require an original FCP 3 CD for varification. These guys obviously don't have the FCP 3 disc since they upgraded from 1 or 2. Apple is charging them $80 to for an FCP 3 disc. All they want is to be able to have the most current upgrade and they are getting hosed. There are a bunch of people ridding Apple's @ss 'bout this but I'm not sure how that fight is going right now.


    Lethal
     
  3. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    That sucks...remind me to NEVER damage my FCP3 CDs at work. :p
     
  4. kiwi_the_iwik macrumors 65816

    kiwi_the_iwik

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    I thought you could duplicate your FCP CD as a backup measure...

    Apple give you the impression that you can make up ONE copy as a safety, and work from that. Myself and my workmates all bought FCP3, and promptly backed up our CD, putting the originals away in a safe place.

    So, if anything happened to the disk, we'd still at least be able to edit our projects.
     
  5. Mr. Anderson thread starter Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #5
    You're assuming I'm as smart as you ;)

    I've been going through my whole collection of app cds and backing them up since this happened. It won't happen again, that's for sure.

    D
     
  6. LethalWolfe macrumors G3

    LethalWolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6

    Have you tried using the back-up CDs? For some reason I remember back-ups not working if the updater (or whatever) asks for the FCP dics.


    Lethal
     
  7. GigaWire macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
  8. kiwi_the_iwik macrumors 65816

    kiwi_the_iwik

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #8
    I don't know what you're doing that the backups aren't working - mine works fine. I used Toast Titanium 5.1.3, and it went without a glitch.

    I have, however, heard that there's a clever piece of copy protection software written into the installer that only enables a duplicate to be made from the MASTER disk, and not from any disks already copied. Cunning...

    ;)
     
  9. GigaWire macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2001
    #9
    i made a back up form a master through toast and was no go on updating, how did you make your back up. i just used disc copy, but would like to know your method, as it would allow me to take my FCP CD out of my safe :)
     
  10. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #10
    that really sucks, someone stole my windows xp disc at work (once again the theif that stole the other stuff which is now fired) and i called microsoft and they sent me a brand new one for like 30 dollars with a new serial number and everything. only thing i had to have was a code on the box to prove i bought it.

    iJon
     
  11. Moxiemike macrumors 68020

    Moxiemike

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #11
    I lost my InDesign cd about a week ago and need to reinstall it... which sucks and led me to call Adobe. $25.00 + $4.95 for shipping. $14.95 if I wanted it overnight.
     
  12. wayne091189 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2002
    #12
    Sorry to hear about your problem with the CD.

    As for Apple asking you to pay that mush for a backup CD it's just a rip off.

    It does not cost that mush to send out a replacement CD, I could understand if they wanted you to pay £15 20 pounds for posting and packaging, but come on £80.00 for a replacement CD you have all ready paid for.

    THAT IS A f#cking joke.

    This just reminds me of microsoft. very sad.

    PS: Please dont say TROLL you sad c#nts
     
  13. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #13
    read my post above, this is completly opposite of my microsoft with my experiences.

    iJon
     

Share This Page