Apple Replacing 2.0GHz MBP Logic Board

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by screensaver400, Jul 2, 2006.

  1. screensaver400 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    #1
    My W8615 MBP has the infamous whine, and Apple has agreed to replace the logic board. It seems they have a new model of logic board that has a quieter whine... At least, thats what the rep told me.

    My questions are twofold.

    First, has anyone else heard of or received this "quieter" logic board? A quick search on google shows nothing of relevance.

    Second, since this is a new rev. of logic board, does that mean I'm getting the 2.16? They couldn't give me the 2.0 logic board currently in production because the new 2.0 only has 128MB of VRAM.
     
  2. laidbackliam macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #2
    i believe most companies will keep X number of boards for every model they produce (i know vw does this with car parts), for a certain amount of time, just in case something breaks.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Yeah, but if it's a new revision then they probably wouldn't have "old" ones.
     
  4. yah00z macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    #4
    well

    i had a week 20 MBP that had a really loud whine and alot of other issues. i arranged a replacement and got a week 25 MBP that has no whine, and runs about 10 degrees cooler at all times if not more. I am a very, very happy camper right now...
     
  5. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #5
    It could happen...When my laptop got repaired, it came back with a .3ghz CPU upgrade and a DVD burner..granted this was a Gateway and not Apple, but...
     
  6. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    with ibook logic board replacements they made a new fixed board for every ibook at it's original speed, no upgrades for anyone.
     
  7. screensaver400 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    #7
    Cheap bastards... When you factor in the cost of making all different speeds, it wouldn't be that much more expensive to just pick the higher speed and replace everyone with that one.
     
  8. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #8
    Geez, for a second, it sounded as though you sent in a Mac, but they returned you a Gateway with a 300 MHz upgrade. :p
     
  9. vv-tim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    #9
    Not when it costs them $100 more per CPU :p
     

Share This Page