Apple Studio Display 17'' (clear/ADC), works with DVI to ADC adapter?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by Ben H., Apr 28, 2003.

  1. Ben H. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #1
  2. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #2
    it does not, ive already tried, what is your current setup for this?

    iJon
     
  3. Ben H. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #3
    Darn. You tried it using Apple's DVI to ADC adapter? (I know Dr. Bott's adapter won't work with it.)

    I have a 400MHz Power Mac G4 (AGP graphics). Has a Rage Pro 128 card, with a VGA and a DVI port. The motherboard doesn't have support for ADC, so even if I bought a graphics card with an ADC port, it wouldn't work.

    I think the adapter was my only hope of getting the monitor to work with my Mac. Phooey. :(
     
  4. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #4
    Any idea why not?
    I haven't tried the 17" CRT, but I have got the new 20" TFT connected to a G4 450 Mhz (no ADC) with Radeon 9000 Pro with Dr. Botts DVI to ADC adapter at a friend of mine.
     
  5. ibookin' macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    It is probably because of the power requirments of the CRT.
     
  6. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #6
    well i dont know why it wont work. it just didnt. we talked to a friend at apple and he gave us this tip. plug the 17 crt into the adc port on the powermac, then plug her 23 inch flatpanel into the dvi port with the adc-dvi box. im not sure why it doenst work, just doesnt.

    iJon
     
  7. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #7
    Good point.
    That could be it. The CRT does use up a lot more power.

    Good to know.
     

Share This Page