Apple Tv (2nd Gen) to old square tv...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by adammusic, Nov 22, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #1
    Is there a way to connect apple tv to an old tv. It has only the 3 colored stereo inputs red yellow white. Im reading places that the hdmi cable to rca wont work. That I need one of those converter boxes. The illegal ones that don't copyright so it works.

    Can i plug from HDMI on the ATV into HDMI on my comcast cable box?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #2

    The cable box' HDMI is OUTPUT, can't send HDMI signal TO it.

    Yes there are converters, BUT more expensive than it's worth (hundreds) and result awful.

    Look at the Black Friday's flyers. Cheap TV everywhere. How exactly poor are u? :confused:
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #3
    lol. well i was gonna get a new vizio with the built in apps, which would make apple tv useless basically. So i want to get it to work now for the time being. & also pretty broke.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    #4
    Your Comcast box won't pass through audio and video from your AppleTV to your TV.

    Sorry, it's not designed to do so.

    Best Buy is having a Black Friday deal at midnight tonight for $180 on a 40" Toshiba LCD. Grab one of those and an HDMI cable and call it a day.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    #5
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #6
    +1 for this exact product.

    I've been using it with my jailbroken Apple TV 2 for the past year. Works just fine and for only $35 it is way cheaper than buying a new TV.

    Those darn CRT TV's just won't die, will they?! I want to replace mine but can't justify the cost at the moment.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #7
    Link is dead...whats the product?
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #8
    Probably a HDMI to Composite converter.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Yonkers, NY
    #9
    Yes, I would also like to know the exact product. I have HDTV, but only has component inputs, and also DVI input (old Sony KDF60XBR950). I would love to get an ATV 3, but keep hearing conflicting info on converters.

    Thanks
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #10
    If you have an DVI input on the HDTV, all you need is a simple HDMI to DVI adapter cable. If you only have a component input, you'll need a converter though.
     
  11. macrumors 6502

    potatis

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    #11
    He would also need a DAC to route the audio to, since DVI doesn't do sound and ATV doesn't do analogue audio. Or he could buy a 1G ATV.
     

Share This Page